Reverse draft??

• Active since 1995, Hearth.com is THE place on the internet for free information and advice about wood stoves, pellet stoves and other energy saving equipment.

We strive to provide opinions, articles, discussions and history related to Hearth Products and in a more general sense, energy issues.

We promote the EFFICIENT, RESPONSIBLE, CLEAN and SAFE use of all fuels, whether renewable or fossil.
Status
Not open for further replies.

uptrapper

Sep 28, 2008
sault ste. marie, MI
I was gone all weekend and when i came home the room where my woodstove is smells like smoke very strongly I have not had a fire going for 4 days. I took a lighter and put in where the entrance to the stove pipe is and I actually have air coming down the chimney into the stove. I am new to burning so maybe this is normal sometimes. It was a very warm day about 20 degrees warmer than it has been for the last 2 or 3 weeks maybe thats it. We are supposed to have a 6mph wind accoring to the weather but I can not feel any wind outside. This is my first year with a wood stove, I've probably only had 15 fires or so but have never had any problems with draft. I lit a piece of newspaper in the stove and it lit on fire right away and the smoke went out the chimney but as soon as the flames went out smoke started coming out of the air intake into the house. I have a clay tile lined masonary chimney is this normal or is something wrong?

Mike

Your house is acting like a better chimney than your chimney is. The best way I've found to stop this is to make sure all of the electrical boxes and the attic entrance is sealed as best as you can.

Matt