Should I Be Concerned?

• Active since 1995, Hearth.com is THE place on the internet for free information and advice about wood stoves, pellet stoves and other energy saving equipment.

We strive to provide opinions, articles, discussions and history related to Hearth Products and in a more general sense, energy issues.

We promote the EFFICIENT, RESPONSIBLE, CLEAN and SAFE use of all fuels, whether renewable or fossil.
Status
Not open for further replies.

Windy

Sep 15, 2008
Fallon, NV
I've been burning 24/7 for about 2 1/2 months now. Today I noticed some black flakes on my sidewalk and when I looked up at the chimney, I noticed the revolving cap was black & dripping. Is the dripping matter creosote or could it possibly be condensation collecting on the cap? Is this common for revolving caps or should I call a chimney sweep?

Black and dripping, combined with the visible flakes, definitely merits an inspection, if nothing else. Better safe than sorry. How dry is your wood?

Pagey, Yes, safety is my main concern! Since I live in a dry state, my wood is well seasoned. I burn cottonwood during the day and almond (imported from CA) during the night. My stove top temps rarely get above 350 and I get up twice during the night to reload. I'm beginning to think that I'm dampening down too soon and also my splits may be too large. (Unfortunately, I'm not physically able to split wood.) My glass is only dirty on the lower corners and I very seldom see smoke outside. Up until now, I thought I was doing everything right. lol

My stove and full liner is about 3 weeks old at this point. I noticed the same small black flakes on the sidewalk Saturday. I follow the stove manual where it tells you to burn a small hot fire with damper wide open for an hour every morning. My wood for the first two weeks was 18 months aged. The last week I have been burning wood that is only 7 months aged. I suspect the black flakes are due to the wood being somewhat wet.