Smart Stat - St Croix

• Active since 1995, Hearth.com is THE place on the internet for free information and advice about wood stoves, pellet stoves and other energy saving equipment.

We strive to provide opinions, articles, discussions and history related to Hearth Products and in a more general sense, energy issues.

We promote the EFFICIENT, RESPONSIBLE, CLEAN and SAFE use of all fuels, whether renewable or fossil.

Eddie Haskell

Oct 8, 2017
Kimberly, WI
I was forced to replace the board/controller on my St Croix Prescott EXP and now I have a question or two.
I am new to the smart stat feature the new board has and not sure if I want to keep that engaged.
on my board I have 3 settings:
Manual, Tstat and smart stat. I believe T-Stat and Smart-Stat now do the same exact thing and only manual will let me control when there's fire and when there's not
My old board would not shut the stove down once it hit temp, it would drop down to an idle and still make heat. Now once temp is met it shuts down completely. I am not certain I want to work this way, especially when it gets really cold.
My real question is; how do I disable smart stat and make it work like it used to...The addendum to the manual implies this can be done but no further instructions are given...Thanks

Manual runs the stove continuous on whatever heat setting you have it on. Tstat setting uses your tstat and oscillates from 1 to what you have the the heat level set to maintain room temp but never goes out. Smart stat does the same thing as "tstat" except it allows the stove to shut down if there is no demand from your tstat for a period of time.

Everything you said is what I think as well. That is how it used to work but no longer.