Not open for further replies.
  1. dyerkutn

dyerkutn
    Feeling the Heat 2.
    NULL

Jul 11, 2011
    Loc:
    Boston NW suburbs
    I stupidly left a piece of wood drying on the stove and went out. When I came back the house was completely filled with smoke. Every room, Even seeped into the refrigerator. I opened all the windows and doors and now there is no visible smoke and the smoke alarms are off but the place still stinks and I think I feel it a bit in my eyes. Any advice--I know the house is not really airtight so I am thinking it will eventually drift out--but it is really cold out so I have the windows closed.

Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  2. BethelStrong

BethelStrong
    Member 2.
    NULL

Dec 12, 2018
    Loc:
    Ohio
    I’m no pro, but that doesn’t seem right.

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

3. Kevin Weis

Kevin Weis
    Minister of Fire 2.
    NULL

Mar 3, 2018
    Loc:
    Union Bridge, Md
    Crack a few windows open and turn up the furnace for few hours might help. If the smoke was that bad it is likely in the fabric of you furniture and drapes etc. That may eventually go away but probably not for a while. Others here may have some better advise.

4. bholler

bholler
    Chimney sweep 2.
    NULL

Staff Member

Jan 14, 2014
    Loc:
    central pa
    First off don't put combustible materials on top of the stove ever. Yes the smell will dissipate slowly but it will take quite a while. If you don't want to wait call in a professional cleaning crew.

Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  5. BethelStrong

BethelStrong
    Member 2.
    NULL

Dec 12, 2018
    Loc:
    Ohio
    Get an air purifier. Not a filter, but a purifier. The smell would be gone in a day. Kills mold through walls, neutralizes bacteria, etc.

6. bholler

bholler
    Chimney sweep 2.
    NULL

Staff Member

Jan 14, 2014
    Loc:
    central pa