So --- What do you do with the ash?

• Active since 1995, Hearth.com is THE place on the internet for free information and advice about wood stoves, pellet stoves and other energy saving equipment.

We strive to provide opinions, articles, discussions and history related to Hearth Products and in a more general sense, energy issues.

We promote the EFFICIENT, RESPONSIBLE, CLEAN and SAFE use of all fuels, whether renewable or fossil.
Status
Not open for further replies.

velotocht

Jan 22, 2011
Dutchess Co, NY
I have a 5 gallon metal bucket in which I collect the ash from the trays in my Whitfield. I average about two buckets (10 gallons) per tone of pellets. I expect this is about the normal accumulation rate. ?

But here's a question: What shoudl I do with the ash?

My neighbor suggested that I just spread it on the lawn - which is what I've been doing for the last 5+ years. He said ash is bascially caustic ... and therefore good for the grass around pine trees. So I did some experimentation - dumping around the pines one year and on the open (healthy) grass another year -- in the shaded areas a third year and, after all my testing, I concluded the ash does nothing good or bad for the lawn! BTW, I live in Dutchess county NY, where we've had record snow fall this year.

Anyone else done this kind of testing? What do you do with your ash?

RonB

on my snowy inclined driveway!

good idea emmelch1...........never thought of that.

-Soupy1957

I take mine up to my wife's grandmother's farm where they use it for fertilizer for the fields.

I spread the ashes out in the flower garden in the spring.

I'm not to far from the coast, maybe 70 miles straight line, so I take them in my airplane and release them out over the Atlantic after saying a few words.

Cooper: Spreading over the ocean ... how very serene of you! :)

So does anyone know the good - or bad - effects of dumping them on the lawn? I have seen no effect either way.

RonB

hossthehermit said:
Driveway slope