Midwest (OH, IL, IN, WI, MI, IA) Southeast WI. Pellet sources.

• Active since 1995, Hearth.com is THE place on the internet for free information and advice about wood stoves, pellet stoves and other energy saving equipment.

We strive to provide opinions, articles, discussions and history related to Hearth Products and in a more general sense, energy issues.

We promote the EFFICIENT, RESPONSIBLE, CLEAN and SAFE use of all fuels, whether renewable or fossil.

Rivet

Oct 25, 2022
Southeast WI.
Newbie here, so please excuse and correct any ignorant statements that I might make. Thank you!

I was beginning to explore my options for purchasing bulk, (loose, unbagged) pellets in our area. I’m finding locations such as Risely Pellet Solutions in Monticello and Badgerland Pellets in Sheboygan Falls as actual pellet manufacturers, as well as the more well known names of Marathon and Indeck, which appear to be both manufacturers AND packagers/distributors, as we are all familiar with the Marth and Indeck names on the bags themselves.
Does anyone have any knowledge or information as to if brands such as Uncle Jeds and Dejnos are obtaining product from a manufacturer and packaging it in their brand name bag, or are they manufacturers as well?

Dejno makes their own pellets. I don't think they can be purchased in bulk per se, but they do sell to retail customers by the semi load -- I think that's 22 tons (bagged) IIRC. They may also sell by half trailer loads -- you can reach them easily by googling them to get a quote. They make a very good quality pellet, better than Marth or Indeck IMO. Of course there are many retail outlets where you can buy them by the bag or pallet.

Uncle Jeds is the house brand of Earth Sense in Dale, Wis. The softwoods are rebagged Canadian pellets, LaCrete I think. They used to sell an Uncle Jeds hardwood pellet that was a pretty good oak pellet. I had the good fortune to be gifted a ton several years ago.