Thermometer location

• Active since 1995, Hearth.com is THE place on the internet for free information and advice about wood stoves, pellet stoves and other energy saving equipment.

We strive to provide opinions, articles, discussions and history related to Hearth Products and in a more general sense, energy issues.

We promote the EFFICIENT, RESPONSIBLE, CLEAN and SAFE use of all fuels, whether renewable or fossil.

Founders1

Jan 17, 2016
Grand rapids mi
Hello friends this is my first time posting in the forum. I've been reading quite a bit of threads and learning quite a bit already. We've recently purchased a home. I have bought and installed my first hearthstone wood stove. It is the Phoenix model. The wood stove is currently located in the basement of a three-story and is doing a wonderful job heating the basement and main floor. I'm still researching the best way to move the heat around in hopes that it will reach the upper floor at some point. What I'm wondering at this point is where on my stove or pipe do I put the thermometer? Thus far I have had it on the black pipe that connects to the chimney. I have kept it may be 6 inches higher than the top of the stove. From what I've read I should be running the stove between 350 and 400 degrees and have been doing pretty well to stay in that range. I recently read that was recommended to put the thermometer on the center stone on top of the stove. When doing this the thermometer on the stove reads 200 degrees more than it does on the black pipe where I've had it in the past. I'm worried about over firing the stove and damaging it. Where I keep the stove around 400 degrees with a thermometer on the stove it doesn't seem to be putting out an incredible amount of heat. It does seem much more impressive. Any suggestions or advice on this topic would be greatly appreciated. Thank you very much in advance. Mark

With a magnetic thermometer on single wall pipe. I believe you want to be more like 12-16" up.