Vermont Castings Dauntless Flashback Problem

• Active since 1995, Hearth.com is THE place on the internet for free information and advice about wood stoves, pellet stoves and other energy saving equipment.

We strive to provide opinions, articles, discussions and history related to Hearth Products and in a more general sense, energy issues.

We promote the EFFICIENT, RESPONSIBLE, CLEAN and SAFE use of all fuels, whether renewable or fossil.

Ant428

Jan 13, 2023
New York
Hello Everyone. Im fairly new to burning, coming from an old 1978 Frontier Wood stove that was pretty easy to run. I just purchased a new VC Dauntless wood stove. I do not have the CAT installed because they are on back order right now. Last night I had the stove going and decided to load it up with about 5 pieces of wood, which almost filled it. After it heated up, I close the bypass ( which makes the fire sound like a blow torch for some reason). No smoke is coming out of the chimney. The stove top remains about 450 but the flue is heating fast, approaching 450 as well pretty quickly. I decide to damper it down a bit with the heat control, but the heat is still climbing. I waited a bit and gave it another turn lower on the heat control. It was still running hot and the stove top was still climbing. I turned down the heat a bit more slowly, until the flames began to calm down (im afraid of the stove overheating over 650). I noticed I could not see the flames much anymore and the glass on the door turned really smokey. I turned the heat one click hotter to give it some air, and BOOM. There was an explosion and the top loader door swung open and shut. Scared the crap out of me! I'm really nervous to run it again. Any thoughts on what happened?