VERMONT CASTINGS VIGILANT WOOD STOVE

• Active since 1995, Hearth.com is THE place on the internet for free information and advice about wood stoves, pellet stoves and other energy saving equipment.

We strive to provide opinions, articles, discussions and history related to Hearth Products and in a more general sense, energy issues.

We promote the EFFICIENT, RESPONSIBLE, CLEAN and SAFE use of all fuels, whether renewable or fossil.

PETE SYLVAINA

Apr 1, 2017
SAYLORSBURG PA
HELLO, I am in the process of buying a home in PA. It has a Vermont Castings Vigilant parlor stove in the basement. I am choppin on the bit to get access to model # etc. It has it's own dedicated flue in a mason chimney shared by a fireplace.I have done some research and this looks like it should heat my 1320 sq ft house w/ a 660 basement.I am thinking of installing an insert in the fireplace, to have that as a heat source also. Any thoughts or advice would be greatly appreciated as I am new to heating with wood. I plan to have the chimney cleaned and inspected.Also I plan to replace the gaskets and any other necessary parts. It has not been used in ? so stove polish?? Thank you in advance for any help. I have learned a lot already from this site. PETE

No to stove polish! You want to use high temperature paint in a spray can. Stove Bright is the best paint that's readily available. Any hearth store should carry it. Or of course, amazon.

Reactions: PETE SYLVAINA
Dry wood. Insulate the walls or they become a heat sink.

No to stove polish! You want to use high temperature paint in a spray can. Stove Bright is the best paint that's readily available. Any hearth store should carry it. Or of course, amazon.
Can you please elaborate as to why no stove polish? I plan on rebuilding my encore on the hearth and didn't want to be spraying paint in the house.