Vigilant Install Advice

• Active since 1995, Hearth.com is THE place on the internet for free information and advice about wood stoves, pellet stoves and other energy saving equipment.

We strive to provide opinions, articles, discussions and history related to Hearth Products and in a more general sense, energy issues.

We promote the EFFICIENT, RESPONSIBLE, CLEAN and SAFE use of all fuels, whether renewable or fossil.
Status
Not open for further replies.

Lowellmotel

Nov 23, 2012
SE Ohio
Hello All,

I am very new to this, but have been reading here for months. I am on the eve of having my vintage refurbished Vigilant (by a MA guy who is likely on this list) installed in my house by a reputable chimney sweep/stove install guy as my insurance wants this. The install guy is not familiar with vintage coal burners to let you know.

My Vig. is pre EPA and has the coal kit installed. The stove will go into the basement of a 2000 sq ft 2 story ranch that is embedded in a hillside in SE Ohio (mostly supplementary heating). The house has all new windows and is pretty tight. I will mostly burn wood, but am inspired by coal and there is access to it. The pipe will go through the wall and up through the eve (with a "T" for easy cleaning). There was a stove here once, but installer wants to replace the thru wall kit.

While replacing the pipe thru the block and fire brick wall, should I install an air intake from the outside with some sort of valve to regulate airflow from the outside? Any advice on this or anything else I should know about?

I know that the type of fuel requires diff air intake needs. I want to leave the coal kit in, and am under the impression that this is ok for wood, and will only limit how much wood is in it. Is that true? Is there any way to keep my option for coal in the future? Or should a Newbie just concentrate on learning the stove as a wood burner?

Thanks