Voglezang- Specifics PLEASE

• Active since 1995, Hearth.com is THE place on the internet for free information and advice about wood stoves, pellet stoves and other energy saving equipment.

We strive to provide opinions, articles, discussions and history related to Hearth Products and in a more general sense, energy issues.

We promote the EFFICIENT, RESPONSIBLE, CLEAN and SAFE use of all fuels, whether renewable or fossil.
Status
Not open for further replies.

BikeMedic2709

Aug 31, 2006
North-Central Ohio
I have heated with wood (& coal for a short while) for most of my life as a primary source of heat. (Including processing ALL of my own cord wood.) I am currently in the market for a new wood stove. I also have been a non-registered fan of this site, as well as a few others, pertaining to all aspects of wood heat. What I am saying is this. I am not a "newbie" by any twist of the imagination. (I will also add that I am a Professional Firefighter, Fire Inspector, and Paramedic.)
My question is this.. Why are VOGELZANG STOVES so bad. Please, be specific. I have done a search on this and many other sites and no-one will give specifics. I am looking very closely at purchasing a VOGLEZANG DEFENDER (model # TR001, EPA cert. @ 4.21 G/Hr) and/or the VOGLEZANG HIGHLANDER (model TR003, EPA cert 5.76 G/Hr). This corp. states that both stoves are EPA certified and are "Safety tested to UL standards 1482-1998 and ULC 5629." ( I understand that the Underwriters Lab. /ULC didn't nessessarily test this specific stove.)
I sincerely request your feedback on these particular stoves. Your information will greatly be appreciated!