Was I a jerk? (ammusing in my eyes...) Craigslist wood ad response

• Active since 1995, Hearth.com is THE place on the internet for free information and advice about wood stoves, pellet stoves and other energy saving equipment.

We strive to provide opinions, articles, discussions and history related to Hearth Products and in a more general sense, energy issues.

We promote the EFFICIENT, RESPONSIBLE, CLEAN and SAFE use of all fuels, whether renewable or fossil.
Status
Not open for further replies.

mmopt

Oct 19, 2008
PA
So I'm new to burning, but already have my next years wood supply done (09/10), a grapple load delivered earlier this fall for 600. Anyways, I scan craigslist occasionally for free wood ads to add to the pile, and came across this one, not free, but close and I thought maybe I could bargain into what I consider reality: http://pittsburgh.craigslist.org/for/1008079212.html

So I email this without trying to sound like a jerk, but maybe i was?:
"I’m interested but would only take the wood in exchange for the labor of getting it off your land. If someone pays 35 in this type of weather they must REALLY need wood :) I have a large 4x4 and could possibly get to the wood depending on the location.

Sorry if you consider this a lowball offer, but most people I know will only take wood that isn’t cut in exchange for the work to move it."

---------------------------------------

The response back to me:
"Sounds like you don't need this and are well off. The logs can rot just as well."

My email back:
Hi XXXX

Interesting answer, and how would you assume I’m well off for asking for a lower price? That seems the opposite of just buying a load cut/chopped delivered.

I really did not mean to offend, but for about 70 cord (depending on truck size…) it’s not that much cheaper than the 150-225 a cord for firewood cut and chopped, but yours doesn’t include the effort/risk of hauling, cutting, and chopping.