What exactly is “seasoned” wood?

• Active since 1995, Hearth.com is THE place on the internet for free information and advice about wood stoves, pellet stoves and other energy saving equipment.

We strive to provide opinions, articles, discussions and history related to Hearth Products and in a more general sense, energy issues.

We promote the EFFICIENT, RESPONSIBLE, CLEAN and SAFE use of all fuels, whether renewable or fossil.

livetosail

Nov 12, 2017
Maryland
Okay. This is my first year with a wood burning stove. I installed a US Stove Country Hearth 2500 in mid-December. First fire was the 20th of December. Although I own ten acres of prime hardwood forest in the Midwest, since we began this year, I had to buy wood for this winter.

Since the 20th of December I have bought four ricks of wood from four different individuals all advertising “seasoned” wood.

We have heated the home 100% with wood since then; haven’t even turned on the furnace since then. Everything has been grand. Nights with temps below zero outside, able to keep all three floors above 70 inside.

Three days ago, however, I noticed a backdraft when I opened the door to the stove. It got so bad that I couldn’t open the door without the house smelling like a campfire. I read about the causes and decided that, despite my doubts, it must be a build up in my chimney. I headed to Lowes, bought a chimney sweep brush, and climbed the ladder to the roof.

This is what I found:

c07c7f3a76d195dddfa87a403f8b25be.jpg

The inside of the chimney had about a quarter centimeter deep layer of fluffy powder-like creosote, but the chimney cap (especially the spark arrestor) had the bad stuff- dark, tarry, flakey, crispy creosote. There was so much that I could not see into the spark arrestor at all.

So, that answers that. The draft was definitely compromised, not because the inside of the chimney, but because the cap was encapsulated with creosote.

The question is: WTF is seasoned wood!!?!?!?!