white worms in firewood

• Active since 1995, Hearth.com is THE place on the internet for free information and advice about wood stoves, pellet stoves and other energy saving equipment.

We strive to provide opinions, articles, discussions and history related to Hearth Products and in a more general sense, energy issues.

We promote the EFFICIENT, RESPONSIBLE, CLEAN and SAFE use of all fuels, whether renewable or fossil.
Status
Not open for further replies.

MomaBear

Mar 11, 2015
Ky
I have been burning firewood since 2006 & kept seeing white worms when splitting with log splitter.I tried getting all of them out as I seen them which made the job even harder.I always find dead woods that are dry, and cut & split them in the summer. I do have a wood shed wood is stacked to let air flow Just this past year while spring cleaning I kept finding little tiny worms in dresser drawers and under the couch & in the return vent for heating system and in the closets.At first I thought it was clothes moths so I washed everything in a 2 story 4 bedroom house.& bagged all clothes.Things even went in freezer hopping to kill them in things I couldn't wash.I have old antique stuff from all my family that couldn't be washed.
Shewww, what a job,spraying all the bedding(did not find any in the bed) and furniture mopping for days on end only to find more little bugs under the couch.I'm at my witts end with these little small worm that turn into little black flying bugs with white spots on their wings they dance around and if you touch them they play dead of all things.I only found one large black bug in all the cleaning. I keep a tote with a lead on the wood inside only removing to add wood to fireplace.The bugs do not eat holes in my clothing they only gather dust & stuff that looks like cotton. and they make a cocoon of some type. I do open windows with screen on them could they have gotten in a window & not firewood??
Any Ideas of what they could be??