Wondering about red oak?

• Active since 1995, Hearth.com is THE place on the internet for free information and advice about wood stoves, pellet stoves and other energy saving equipment.

We strive to provide opinions, articles, discussions and history related to Hearth Products and in a more general sense, energy issues.

We promote the EFFICIENT, RESPONSIBLE, CLEAN and SAFE use of all fuels, whether renewable or fossil.

JC88

Dec 31, 2017
South Indiana
Hey everyone new to the forum this may have been discussed somewhere if so I apologize. But I need some others opinions on some red oak that I picked up. I’m fairly new to burning oak... in the past Iv burnt mostly white ash because Iv had so much of it available To me. However I hear great things about oak so wanted to try some. Trouble is the oak I have I’m really having a hard time knowing if it’s seasoned enough to burn without creating tons of creasote. The guy I got it off of very recently split it but said it had been cut for quite awhile. I keep hearing people say it takes a solid year for oak to be ready after being split... it does have some cracking on the ends and has the “seasoned sound” when you clank two pieces together. But a lot of the bark is still pretty firmly attached and is a little spongy ...I’ve thrown a couple pieces in my stove so far and it takes a flame pretty quickly and once my stack gets up to temp (usually about 350-450 degree surface temp) there is no visible smoke leaving the chimney... I’m probably worrying to much about just wanted some other opinions on wether I should just play it safe and save it for next year or just throw it in and burn it some this year. Thanks in advance for any info!

Reactions: hickoryhoarder