Wood ID

• Active since 1995, Hearth.com is THE place on the internet for free information and advice about wood stoves, pellet stoves and other energy saving equipment.

We strive to provide opinions, articles, discussions and history related to Hearth Products and in a more general sense, energy issues.

We promote the EFFICIENT, RESPONSIBLE, CLEAN and SAFE use of all fuels, whether renewable or fossil.

liquidskin

Nov 7, 2014
NJ
I'm a hand splitting newbie so maybe it's partially to do with that, but this SOB was a real headache! Picked up in front of a neighbors house in Northwest NJ. I don't think I'll be going back for more.

Very smelly wood, if that helps with the ID

5bbcb59c66cc6e3214ef7de00bf9d1f5.jpg3c20699eaec77fb2909d03d33d9c3dc2.jpg

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

I'm likely to be corrected as a newbie to wood ID's.

It has a pine look from the bark, color, and grain.
Picked up similar stuff as a professional scavenger.
90% of our stockpile is roadside scrounge. I don't even have a working saw. lol
I just bang on doors and ask if I can have the stuff along people's frontage. Most
of the non-stovers say yes, and leaves me in the same position as you, Liquid.
Bring it home, bust it up, and look it up. Works here @ Cheap Acres.

To be fair, the strong scent you typed about would be a dead giveaway as it "wood" smell like a pine air freshener for your car.
There's a big chance I'm worng, er, wrong. lolol

I'm likely to be corrected as a newbie to wood ID's.

It has a pine look from the bark, color, and grain.
Picked up similar stuff as a professional scavenger.
90% of our stockpile is roadside scrounge. I don't even have a working saw. lol
I just bang on doors and ask if I can have the stuff along people's frontage. Most
of the non-stovers say yes, and leaves me in the same position as you, Liquid.
Bring it home, bust it up, and look it up. Works here @ Cheap Acres.