Woods almost gone, Getting Bio bricks

• Active since 1995, Hearth.com is THE place on the internet for free information and advice about wood stoves, pellet stoves and other energy saving equipment.

We strive to provide opinions, articles, discussions and history related to Hearth Products and in a more general sense, energy issues.

We promote the EFFICIENT, RESPONSIBLE, CLEAN and SAFE use of all fuels, whether renewable or fossil.
Status
Not open for further replies.

mol1jb

Feeling the Heat
Jan 8, 2014
Central IL
So I have never burned bio bricks before. My local menards has a good stash of them so I am going to pick up a couple packs to get me through the next week or so. Any advice on burning with them?

I keep a stash of them for the wifey easier for her to get a good fire going while I'm at work :) They burn hot and quick IMHO. While in college I worked as a cabinet maker. We had a ram type machine in the shop that would pound out 2" diameter pellets all day from the saw dust we made in the shop. We heated the facility all winter from our own saw dust. Definitely not a bad source of heat by any means

watch your air. too many bricks and too much air can mean an overfire.

shoot-straight can you explain what an "over fire" means?? I see this term here all the time. Is it a temp thing? flame thing?

I keep a stash of them for the wifey easier for her to get a good fire going while I'm at work :) They burn hot and quick IMHO.

i do the same thing. but since i got NIEL's, the fire I leave in the morning keeps the house warm until 4pm, sometimes longer. I'm definitely getting a pallett next year.

johnpma, your in MA, they deliver to us.

I'm in W.Mass I grab them a tractor supply. $3.49 for 6pack....cheaper than a 6 of PBR :)

i'm talking about NIEL's, or overnight logs sold at Robbins Garden Supply, in Oxford, MA, just SW of Worcester, do you know them?