woodstove or insert

• Active since 1995, Hearth.com is THE place on the internet for free information and advice about wood stoves, pellet stoves and other energy saving equipment.

We strive to provide opinions, articles, discussions and history related to Hearth Products and in a more general sense, energy issues.

We promote the EFFICIENT, RESPONSIBLE, CLEAN and SAFE use of all fuels, whether renewable or fossil.
Status
Not open for further replies.

beveryda

Oct 18, 2008
New Jersey
Hello. I have recently started looking for a woodstove for my house. I have a small fireplace which I currently do not use. It seems to be wood fireplace originally, but was converted to gas at some point.
I was looking to put a Lopi Answer woodstove in the fireplace, but one of the dealers told me the same Lopi Answer insert is better for heating.

For installing or placing in an existing fireplace, is one better than the other? (Stove Vs. Insert)

I'm a newbie at this, any advise is appreciated!

I personally think a woodstove with a blower is just as effective as any insert. Prolly even better.
If you install a freestanding stove inside a fireplace without the blower you can fugettabout heating your "whole house".

i have 2 fire places one has an insert one has a stove the stove is 4x smaller.the stove heat is better.i have had nothing but problems with this little stove,but this year its fixed,trust me i was rooting for the insert it cost 4x more.but there is nothing like radiant heat.every stove place i have been in the salesman says the same thing 55,000 btu's is 55,000 btu's well not in my house and i dont use a blower for the stove but i have high doorways,and the heat travels in the house better.