Would you buy this Hearthstone Homestead?

• Active since 1995, Hearth.com is THE place on the internet for free information and advice about wood stoves, pellet stoves and other energy saving equipment.

We strive to provide opinions, articles, discussions and history related to Hearth Products and in a more general sense, energy issues.

We promote the EFFICIENT, RESPONSIBLE, CLEAN and SAFE use of all fuels, whether renewable or fossil.
Status
Not open for further replies.

tkuhe

Nov 10, 2008
Ma
Noob here. Been watching and finally posting.
Anything i should ask or tell from these pics regarding the condition of this stove. It is a 2001. Two cracks on the sides. Any thoughts?

Attachments

• 406734328_bWJab-M.jpg
    406734328_bWJab-M.jpg
    58.7 KB · Views: 719
  • 410266380_9gTiN-M.jpg
    410266380_9gTiN-M.jpg
    60.1 KB · Views: 878
  • 410266913_itUap-M.jpg
    410266913_itUap-M.jpg
    64.9 KB · Views: 656
  • 410266944_gxsSU-M.jpg
    410266944_gxsSU-M.jpg
    62 KB · Views: 648
couple more pics

Attachments

• 410271445_rpCjx-M.jpg
    410271445_rpCjx-M.jpg
    60.1 KB · Views: 618
  • 410272083_V7m2T-M.jpg
    410272083_V7m2T-M.jpg
    63.7 KB · Views: 732
  • 410272325_WjNh2-M.jpg
    410272325_WjNh2-M.jpg
    66.1 KB · Views: 657
  • 410272664_iQ2u2-M.jpg
    410272664_iQ2u2-M.jpg
    60.8 KB · Views: 591
If the price is good, I'd consider it. You might ask how long the cracks have been there.

Owner is looking for $1250 which seems a little steep to me but that is why I am asking. I'll ask about the cracks. According to the Hearthstone website they say that the cracks aren't really an issue. Is that true?

"Most cracks that occur in soapstone are merely surface cracks on a natural vein line. The stone is 1.25 inches (3.2 cm) thick, and seldom cracks all the way through. Even if the stone does crack completely, it is rarely anything more than a cosmetic issue. It probably will not affect the use, safety or performance of your stove."