1. Welcome Hearth.com Guests and Visitors - Please enjoy our forums!
    Hearth.com GOLD Sponsors who help bring the site content to you:
    Hearthstone Soapstone and Cast-Iron stoves( Wood, Gas or Pellet Stoves and Inserts)
    Caluwe - Passion for Fire and Water ( Pellet and Wood Hydronic and Space Heating)

10-cpm dirty stove issue

Post in 'The Pellet Mill - Pellet and Multifuel Stoves' started by sculptor, Nov 24, 2012.

  1. sculptor

    sculptor Member

    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2009
    Messages:
    197
    Loc:
    central nc
    Just recently I've been having the dirty stove issue of a burnpot filling overnight. I thought I was pretty up on the stove cleaning. I've had if for 5 years without this problem. I know it's a dirty stove issue...but where?

    Checked oak and oak screen- completely clean!
    During my cleaning process, I hit the back with a mallet and vacuum what falls.
    I disconnected the exhaust vent and cleaned. (it's warm here now). Periodically do the leaf blower trick.
    I removed the CB and installed a new one. It came with a gasket on, so all I had to do was put the screws on. I vacuumed inside before install.
    I scrape the burnpot and drill the holes out during cleaning, but they seem to clog up.

    After cleaning, it runs fine. Nice heat. Nice dancing (blue, yellow, and white flame) no orange flame. After a couple of bags, I wake up to this.

    What is looks like is an air flow problem (cleaning), but where? DSC_0962.JPG . The ash doesn't seem to fall into the ash pan. It's a very small amount. And it seems to build up between the burnpot and the craddle

    Attached Files:

    Helpful Sponsor Ads!





  2. imacman

    imacman Guest

    WOW....I have NEVER seen that on my 10-cpm, not even going 59 bags w/o opening the door. There is something not right.

    Are you sure the combustion blower is running "full speed"? I'll take your word on the stove being clean, but that sure looks like an air flow problem.

    Have you checked the door seal with the "dollar bill" test?

    Only other thing I can come up with is the pellets....change to another brand lately?
  3. sculptor

    sculptor Member

    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2009
    Messages:
    197
    Loc:
    central nc
    I'm burning turman. Ironically, started after I switched to a quality pellet. I did the dollar bill test and the door passed, but the front of the hopper failed! I have tightened the hopper latch, but haven't run it yet. These photos are from this morning. I'm getting some advice here today and will do another cleaning. It's getting down to the 20's tonight, so would love to solve this today!! Thanks!
  4. sculptor

    sculptor Member

    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2009
    Messages:
    197
    Loc:
    central nc
    My settings are 1-4-1
  5. imacman

    imacman Guest

    Well, I'd hate to think the Turmans were at fault, but crazier things have occurred.....do you have any of the previous pellets left to try?

    Going back to the previous post I made.....are you 100% certain the combustion blower is running correctly? Did you plug it into 120v (using a "test power cord") when you had it out for cleaning?
  6. imacman

    imacman Guest

    Try 1-6-1 on the settings.
  7. sculptor

    sculptor Member

    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2009
    Messages:
    197
    Loc:
    central nc
    No. I had a new one I installed. I thought I'd just pull it, and replace it with the new one, and clean the other one when I have time. Inspecting the old one, it wasn't very dirty anyways. No I don't have any of the old ones. I have to correct myself, it was 4 bags. But, given what you posted I don't think it matters. I don't get it. The stove is running beautifully! It's very hot. I've watched it during a 2 bag spell. The pellets in the burnpost stay relatively low in amount for a couple of days and then it slowly starts to build.
  8. sculptor

    sculptor Member

    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2009
    Messages:
    197
    Loc:
    central nc
    I didn't test the CB. But, if it matters at all. Outside, I can hear & feel the exhaust coming from the vent.
  9. sculptor

    sculptor Member

    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2009
    Messages:
    197
    Loc:
    central nc
    Question. The ash pan access doors on each side of the burnpot. They are supposed to slide under the metal piece until they stop, right?
  10. imacman

    imacman Guest

    I push them all the way in until they hit the little metal stops, and then push the vertical doors on the back wall down on top of them as tightly as I can and then tighten the screw. I don't slide the bottom horizontal doors open at all until I actually clean the stove.
  11. sculptor

    sculptor Member

    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2009
    Messages:
    197
    Loc:
    central nc
    OK. just making sure I have that right.
  12. SmokeyTheBear

    SmokeyTheBear Minister of Fire

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2008
    Messages:
    12,060
    Loc:
    Standish, ME
    When you cleaned the vent did you get the termination cap?

    They can get really cruded up and folks generally don't really pay attention to them.

    Also check to see if anything got back into the air intake area under the burn pot. Sometimes folks get to scraping things out with that end open and stuff get in there.

    ETA:Is your burn pot stirrer working?
  13. sculptor

    sculptor Member

    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2009
    Messages:
    197
    Loc:
    central nc
    got the termination cap.
    stirrer is working fine.
    In the photos, you can see a build-up of ash under the burnpot. I clean this daily. It seems to build up right under the burnpot.
  14. SmokeyTheBear

    SmokeyTheBear Minister of Fire

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2008
    Messages:
    12,060
    Loc:
    Standish, ME
    Also check to see if anything got back into the air intake area under the burn pot. Sometimes folks get to scraping things out with that end open and stuff get(s) in there.

    If you are always playing under the burn pot you might have gotten ash into the air intake, I'd insert a small tube attached to the vacuum and send that into the air path or disconnect the OAK at the back of the stove and send the vacuum hose in that way.
  15. sculptor

    sculptor Member

    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2009
    Messages:
    197
    Loc:
    central nc
    Ok. I stuck the hose of the vacuum into the fresh air just in case there is anything in there. I also disconnected the exhaust vent, and ran the vacuum hose in there as well. I let it sit in there with the vacuum on. I took my air compressor and lightly sent bursts of air into the ash door panels. I cleaned and vacuumed again. If this doesn't work, could it be a bad combustion fan even though it's brand new?

    Attached Files:

  16. imacman

    imacman Guest

    It's possible.

    Also, disconnect the OAK from the back of the stove just for the heck of it....that eliminates the OAK hose as a possible problem.

    Burn pot looks good, but one more question....does the burn pot sit flat on the cradle (no rocking back & forth if you push down on different corners....not warped)?
  17. imacman

    imacman Guest

    Not necessary to clean this daily....as long as the big rectangular hole is open, that ash sitting on the edges has no effect on anything.

    I WILL say that the ash looks pretty dark.....more evidence of lack of burn air. Make sure you try the 1-6-1 setting I mentioned.
  18. sculptor

    sculptor Member

    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2009
    Messages:
    197
    Loc:
    central nc
    I'm sorry. I should have posted a complete list of the things I've performed. :) I did remove the oak when I read a previous poster that had the same issue. The burnpot does sit flat. I have re-lit it, and I'll wait and see. I feel it's dirty stove issue...I just can't seem to find where. This won't be the first time I thought I had a problem, and another clean makes it go away. lol.

    I also set to 1-6-1
  19. imacman

    imacman Guest

    Keep us posted.
  20. sculptor

    sculptor Member

    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2009
    Messages:
    197
    Loc:
    central nc
    I will and thanks for your help! Much appreciated!
  21. imacman

    imacman Guest

    burnpot untouched 2.JPG burnpot w:o agitator.JPG Ashpan.JPG Just for your own reference, here are pics of my burn pot, ash, and the ash in the ash pan. Notice how much lighter it is than yours (more complete burn). Hope yours starts to look like that soon.
  22. DexterDay

    DexterDay Guest

    If the burn pot doesn't sit flush, try putting some "Flat gasket" material down..

    This will seal the pot a little better and eliminate some burn pot bypass.

    The ash slides should be fully seated (triple check them). And the hopper lid latch should be tight as well.

    The slowing Comb blower is a good possibility. Do you have an oil? Maybe try some lube? Get it spinnin again?
  23. imacman

    imacman Guest

    I am experimenting with my own pot gasket as we speak. Have been using it since the beginning of burn season and it seemingly makes a difference....much liver flame on all heat ranges.

    I even make a special gasket to seal off the right side where the stirrer goes out of the pot....BIG air hole there w/o it.
  24. DexterDay

    DexterDay Guest

    Yeah. I made a Lytherm gasket for the stirrer hole and flat gasket for the pot.

    I used high temp silicone and its still holding up well.

    2012-04-14_17-58-58_725.jpg
  25. imacman

    imacman Guest

    Looks good. I see you did that right after getting the stove....good foresight Dex.

    I have some of that flat hopper gasket too, but it's so coarse, I thought the nice smooth Lytherm would do a better job of sealing, since there is no weight really compressing it. So far so good.
    Indiana likes this.

Share This Page