another new guy, same old question

• Active since 1995, Hearth.com is THE place on the internet for free information and advice about wood stoves, pellet stoves and other energy saving equipment.

We strive to provide opinions, articles, discussions and history related to Hearth Products and in a more general sense, energy issues.

We promote the EFFICIENT, RESPONSIBLE, CLEAN and SAFE use of all fuels, whether renewable or fossil.
Status
Not open for further replies.

jotul?

Burning Hunk
May 30, 2014
western pa
I've been heating with a cozeburn 250 wood/coal boiler for the last 7 years and have been very happy with it. 8 tons of house coal and 2-3 cords of wood per winter for 72 degrees no matter the outside temp. However, we are moving to my wife's family farm house that is 100`ish yrs old with oil fired hot water baseboard. I don't have the means to install another outdoor boiler at this time,and being honestly sick and tired of coal smoke, I am going to build a hearth and install a wood stove to at least supplement the oil. I am stuck on Jotul as I love Norwegian things for some reason, and I have 1700 square feet in western Pennsylvania to to keep warm. I will be able to centrally locate the stove in this two story (with central staircase) farm house and I am thinking Oslo, Rangeley, Carrabasset, or Firelight cb. I personally really like the Black Bear, but I don't think I'll be able to coax the burn times out of it that I'm looking for. So gentlemen, do your worst, let me have it, and hopefully I can not screw this up too bad.

You can always tell a norwegian,but you can't tell them much,except to have another drink!;lol OK got the "pick on the new guy out of the way.If I still lived back that way I would be burning coal,esp. in an old house.Cannot help you,have not burned wood for a long time,but others will chip in.If it makes you feel better(after the joke) I have an austroflamm and a jonsered.Bob