Cab50 problem....again.

Post in 'The Pellet Mill - Pellet and Multifuel Stoves' started by MommyOf4, Jan 15, 2013.

  1. imacman

    imacman
    Expand Collapse
    Guest

    OK, I'm confused with what you said here, compared to what you said in post #43: "Our dealer just switched out our control box "

    So, which is it?
     

    Helpful Sponsor Ads!





  2. DexterDay

    DexterDay
    Expand Collapse
    Guest

    I believe she is referring to the door gasket?

     
  3. gfreek

    gfreek
    Expand Collapse
    Minister of Fire

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2010
    Messages:
    967
    Likes Received:
    90
    Loc:
    Beautiful Attica/Varysburg,New York
    So no door gasket.... Shut the door tighter.... What??????
     
    Collapse Signature Expand Signature
  4. imacman

    imacman
    Expand Collapse
    Guest

    As I remember, Eric gave her the means to change the door latch and add washers to tighten it up. Wonder if that ever got done?
     
  5. saladdin

    saladdin
    Expand Collapse
    Feeling the Heat

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2011
    Messages:
    345
    Likes Received:
    66
    Loc:
    West Tennessee
    There is a lid switch.
     
    Collapse Signature Expand Signature
  6. saladdin

    saladdin
    Expand Collapse
    Feeling the Heat

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2011
    Messages:
    345
    Likes Received:
    66
    Loc:
    West Tennessee

    Not sure why they would need to change out the control box just to change a setting.
    What was it on and what did they change it to?
     
    Collapse Signature Expand Signature
  7. saladdin

    saladdin
    Expand Collapse
    Feeling the Heat

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2011
    Messages:
    345
    Likes Received:
    66
    Loc:
    West Tennessee
    The newer manual contradicts itself. Don't go by the physical number setting. Go by the number of flashes.
     
    Collapse Signature Expand Signature
  8. gfreek

    gfreek
    Expand Collapse
    Minister of Fire

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2010
    Messages:
    967
    Likes Received:
    90
    Loc:
    Beautiful Attica/Varysburg,New York
    I think it was done, in another post..
     
    Collapse Signature Expand Signature
  9. MommyOf4

    MommyOf4
    Expand Collapse
    Feeling the Heat

    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2012
    Messages:
    361
    Likes Received:
    23
    Loc:
    Southern MD
    Yes, I did change the door latch and no they did not change the door gasket. They only changed the control box.
     
    Collapse Signature Expand Signature
  10. saladdin

    saladdin
    Expand Collapse
    Feeling the Heat

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2011
    Messages:
    345
    Likes Received:
    66
    Loc:
    West Tennessee
    That makes no sense to say the setting is wrong but instead of just turning the knob they replaced the control box.

    Sounds like they have no idea what was wrong and was just throwing parts at it. That would concern me.
     
    Collapse Signature Expand Signature
  11. Lousyweather

    Lousyweather
    Expand Collapse
    Guest

    sure should, Sal......because if its simply not set correctly or being run properly, new parts aint gonna fix dat.
     
  12. MommyOf4

    MommyOf4
    Expand Collapse
    Feeling the Heat

    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2012
    Messages:
    361
    Likes Received:
    23
    Loc:
    Southern MD
    You guys are making me nervous....

    There's a lot of black ash again. :(
     
    Collapse Signature Expand Signature
  13. Lousyweather

    Lousyweather
    Expand Collapse
    Guest

    ***hugs***
     
  14. gfreek

    gfreek
    Expand Collapse
    Minister of Fire

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2010
    Messages:
    967
    Likes Received:
    90
    Loc:
    Beautiful Attica/Varysburg,New York
    At least the dealer is trying to get this right....Have you been burning the same pellets all along?? Black ash ??
     
    Collapse Signature Expand Signature
  15. MommyOf4

    MommyOf4
    Expand Collapse
    Feeling the Heat

    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2012
    Messages:
    361
    Likes Received:
    23
    Loc:
    Southern MD
    I switched from Lignetics to Hamers to Statesman.
     
    Collapse Signature Expand Signature
  16. MommyOf4

    MommyOf4
    Expand Collapse
    Feeling the Heat

    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2012
    Messages:
    361
    Likes Received:
    23
    Loc:
    Southern MD
    I already moved the actual placement of the washer on the door once, but should I add or remove the washer? If I remove the washer (so there is NO washer at all) would that help seal the gasket tighter?

    SN: We changed the control box AND the thermostat and we are still having the same problem.
     
    Collapse Signature Expand Signature
  17. gfreek

    gfreek
    Expand Collapse
    Minister of Fire

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2010
    Messages:
    967
    Likes Received:
    90
    Loc:
    Beautiful Attica/Varysburg,New York
    OMG.... Hopefully others will chime in here. This is getting ridiculous.... you must a lot of patience . ::-)
     
    Collapse Signature Expand Signature
  18. Rob Kav

    Rob Kav
    Expand Collapse
    Member

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2013
    Messages:
    21
    Likes Received:
    7
    I am new to this forum and to pellet stoves in general.The guys who are regulars seem to be very knowledgable.I am only chiming in because I needed to tighten up the door seal in my Cumberland so for me the problem was solved by putting the washers on the front side of the door.If you think about it that will give the door less wiggle room so it has to grip harder on the inside.The guys here have talked about "the dollar bill test"and if you poke around here there are some good descriptions.This darn thing seems to have given you a lot of trouble.I hope this helps.Rob
     
    MommyOf4 likes this.
  19. MommyOf4

    MommyOf4
    Expand Collapse
    Feeling the Heat

    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2012
    Messages:
    361
    Likes Received:
    23
    Loc:
    Southern MD
    Having 4 kids and a husband, I have to have a lot of patience (LOL). It's not a life and death situation and we have heat in our home so nothing to get too upset about. It's just irritating since it's now been over 2 months.
     
    Collapse Signature Expand Signature
  20. MommyOf4

    MommyOf4
    Expand Collapse
    Feeling the Heat

    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2012
    Messages:
    361
    Likes Received:
    23
    Loc:
    Southern MD
    OK...I think I've officially hit my limit.

    My dealer just said he spoke with Heatilator about our issue of our stove shutting down. Heatilator told him that the control setting may need to be adjusted to a higher setting because the fire in the pot is not getting high enough to satisfy the thermocoupler. The feed adjustment rod also needs to be completely open. I told him that it IS in fact the proper height. The problem we are having now is the stove shutting off randomly and not being able to hit the reset button to reset it and also the black sooting. The crazy feeding issue has been resolved.

    I know it has to be the door gasket or the vacuum switch. Is what the dealer saying making sense? I told him that when he comes I want him to check the vacuum switch.
     
    Collapse Signature Expand Signature
  21. saladdin

    saladdin
    Expand Collapse
    Feeling the Heat

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2011
    Messages:
    345
    Likes Received:
    66
    Loc:
    West Tennessee
    You can do a search in the forums and find ways to bypass the vacuum switch to see if that changes things.
    You could almost eliminate or confirm vacuum switch issues on your own in probably 30 minutes (after you plug it back in you'd have to wait the 18 minutes or so for it to power down).

    You can remove the thermocoupler cover , clean it out and make sure the coupler is touching the end your self.

    You can change the setting on the control box yourself. Takes 5 minutes.
    Which control box do you have? How many flashes are there at start-up?

    I believe the only other setting option is +10%. And you coul probably accomplish that by increasing the feeder instead. Change the feed to wide open to see if that changes things.

    But I would bet my fake internet fortune on the door.
     
    Collapse Signature Expand Signature
  22. MommyOf4

    MommyOf4
    Expand Collapse
    Feeling the Heat

    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2012
    Messages:
    361
    Likes Received:
    23
    Loc:
    Southern MD
    We've bypassed the vacuum and it worked fine. The thermocoupler has been cleaned out numerous times. Our dealer said that we would not be able to change the setting on the control box. We replaced our old one with the new model. It has since fixed the feeding frenzy that was going on. I believe there was 2 blinks. The feed wide open made the fire REALLY high.
     
    Collapse Signature Expand Signature
  23. saladdin

    saladdin
    Expand Collapse
    Feeling the Heat

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2011
    Messages:
    345
    Likes Received:
    66
    Loc:
    West Tennessee

    The new manual contradicts itself. You should have 4 blinks for the cab50 per the manual but the graphic shows 2. Your dealer is lying if he is saying you can't physically change the settings. It can be done in 5 minutes. If he's saying he wants to be the one that does it then that's one thing but you can physically do it.

    If he has no idea how to change the setting then return the stove and fire him. He's either lying or dumb.
     
    Collapse Signature Expand Signature
  24. saladdin

    saladdin
    Expand Collapse
    Feeling the Heat

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2011
    Messages:
    345
    Likes Received:
    66
    Loc:
    West Tennessee
    Do a search. I THINK you can bypass the other limit switches also, to test.

    You are running out of parts to replace. If it was me, I would tell him to change out all 3 snap disks and the door rope. Or in the least, bring the 3 snap disks off a floor model so you can switch out to test. I wouldn't have any faith in his deductive abilities. Shotgun approach now.

    Hopefully you paid with a credit card so, if necessary, you can start a charge back.
     
    Collapse Signature Expand Signature
  25. MommyOf4

    MommyOf4
    Expand Collapse
    Feeling the Heat

    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2012
    Messages:
    361
    Likes Received:
    23
    Loc:
    Southern MD
    I think we may have just fixed it! The stove started going out when they were putting the side panels back up and they realized that the wires on the side going up to the hopper were getting pinched. Has anyone ever had this happen?

    Before they found the pinched wire they did some kind of pressure test and it read normal.
     
    Collapse Signature Expand Signature

Share This Page

Entire Site copyright © 1995-2016 - email to webinfo@hearth.com
Hearth.com and HearthNet are property and trademarks of Hearth.com LLC Advertising Information