1. Welcome Hearth.com Guests and Visitors - Please enjoy our forums!
    Hearth.com GOLD Sponsors who help bring the site content to you:
    Hearthstone Soapstone and Cast-Iron stoves( Wood, Gas or Pellet Stoves and Inserts)
    Caluwe - Passion for Fire and Water ( Pellet and Wood Hydronic and Space Heating)
  1. nikeseer

    nikeseer Member

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2012
    Messages:
    233
    Loc:
    Central Connecticut
    I did reduce the feed a little thinking I had too much ash. We'll see how that goes. But I'm super happy that medium is doing sooo well for me. And as you've said Dex the quadrafire has a different heat exchange system. What are your burning right now? If you think the flame is lazy and my damper is all the way open what do you suggest? Close the damper or reduce the feed more?

    Helpful Sponsor Ads!





  2. St_Earl

    St_Earl Minister of Fire

    Joined:
    Sep 9, 2011
    Messages:
    1,090
    Loc:
    millinocket, north central maine
    i think the quad just moves a higher volume of air through the pot.

    the blend does give a lot of lightweight fly ash.
    and it is very dark too. i've burned about 6 1/2 tons of the blend so far over two winters.
    even burning a 50/50 mix of the mwp softies and the blend, the ash is more a grey than the usual black.
    and that's using the exact same settings.

    imo, you're fine.
  3. nikeseer

    nikeseer Member

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2012
    Messages:
    233
    Loc:
    Central Connecticut
    Thanks.. After I read a post and saw that black is not good I got concerned. It's not thick caked on. Just a coating. I knoticed it's darker with the air damper open and feeding more. So probably just more volume. Question for you. What do you do when the power goes out and the stove has been running? The exhaust blower etc all off. The power company turned off the power on my street once because they had to fix the line and my stove was running. Wasn't worried about the flame but the smoke seeped out into my house a little. I opened a window but what happens if you're asleep etc. Wouldn't know it then.
  4. St_Earl

    St_Earl Minister of Fire

    Joined:
    Sep 9, 2011
    Messages:
    1,090
    Loc:
    millinocket, north central maine
    lots of folks have ups battery back up that will keep the stove running a short time to clear the smoke.
    others depend on having good vertical rises in venting so the smoke most often just drafts up and out.

    lots of threads on this. try ups as a search word.
    though the topic also arises in a lot of the generator threads iirc.
  5. nikeseer

    nikeseer Member

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2012
    Messages:
    233
    Loc:
    Central Connecticut
    Going there now. What is ups? ;em
  6. nikeseer

    nikeseer Member

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2012
    Messages:
    233
    Loc:
    Central Connecticut
    How does it work with our stoves? Do you have one?
  7. nikeseer

    nikeseer Member

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2012
    Messages:
    233
    Loc:
    Central Connecticut
    Ok. Found out what it is. Do you have one and if so which one? Looking at radioshack. If I understand it correctly your plug it in then the stove into it and it reserves power and saves to the battery so if the power does go out it keeps your appliance running till it runs out. How does the stove know to start shut down?
  8. nikeseer

    nikeseer Member

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2012
    Messages:
    233
    Loc:
    Central Connecticut
    And as you've said Dex the quadrafire has a different heat exchange system. What are your burning right now? If you think the flame is lazy and my damper is all the way open what do you suggest? Close the damper or reduce the feed more? Also these were shortened videos after I emailed them to myself. Next time I'll download right from my phone to youtube. That should give the full picture.
  9. St_Earl

    St_Earl Minister of Fire

    Joined:
    Sep 9, 2011
    Messages:
    1,090
    Loc:
    millinocket, north central maine
    uninterrupted power supply. used for computers a lot. most won't keep the stove running a long time. but enough to finish burning and exhausting what's left in the pot when the power goes out.
    though some folks have rigged up larger battery systems with much longer run times.
    like car batteries. then use the car to recharge batteries to swap into the system and others run low.

    i just have a good vertical rise out of the stove and a not too long horizontal run out through the wall.
    i get a good enough draft to clear the smoke when it loses power.
  10. jbacon01

    jbacon01 New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 15, 2012
    Messages:
    26
    Loc:
    Stamford CT
    Just purchase a upc for mine off of amazon for 139 delivered. It will run for 21 minutes after the power goes out.......should be enough time to let the stove shut down properly. I can also hook it up to my generator and it will clean the sine wave and prevent any surges. Harman recommended a couple different upc's so i just measured against what they recommended. I would double check with heatilator to what they recommend(prob the same as harman i'm guessing)
  11. DexterDay

    DexterDay Guest

    Good job on the video...

    As for my burning. I only use/need Low. Low will heat my house down to 10° outside. But that was before the Fahrenheit. Now, when it gets around 25° or lower, the Quad gets shut down and the furnace gets the dirty work :)

    But the Quad never had a problem. The Classic Bay has one of the best exhaust path/heat exchanger set-ups I have seen. The Hot exhaust must travel the Full length of the tubes. Awesome stove. Awesome heat. Efficiency at its best. The AE's exchanger may be a little better, but compared to the Santa Fe and Castile, the Classic Bay wins the Quad Exchanger War!
  12. nikeseer

    nikeseer Member

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2012
    Messages:
    233
    Loc:
    Central Connecticut
    Thanks. I'll check it out. Power went out last night for only a minute. Luckily the stove had cycled being how mild it was. So I was good that time.
  13. nikeseer

    nikeseer Member

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2012
    Messages:
    233
    Loc:
    Central Connecticut
    I just made it with placement of the vent pipe because of windows etc. up 1 ft inside then out and 3.5 ft horizontal on an incline of a ft to ft and a half . We didn't get alot of smoke just enough to say open a window.
  14. St_Earl

    St_Earl Minister of Fire

    Joined:
    Sep 9, 2011
    Messages:
    1,090
    Loc:
    millinocket, north central maine
    we didn't have much choice about placement either.
    when i'm up on a ladder with the linteater, i wish we had.
  15. nikeseer

    nikeseer Member

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2012
    Messages:
    233
    Loc:
    Central Connecticut
    LOL.. It was that or an insert. Which originally was the way we were going to go. Glad we didn't. We have our fireplace for backup in case we lose power with a great fireplace grate. Generator is next on the list.
  16. St_Earl

    St_Earl Minister of Fire

    Joined:
    Sep 9, 2011
    Messages:
    1,090
    Loc:
    millinocket, north central maine
    so read up on the generator topic as well. you need a clean sine wave to protect the motors and electronics.
    "inverter generator" is the type. honda, yamaha and a few others at the top of the list. but not things i could afford right now.
    look into what jbacon posted about his upc cleaning up the wave. i never remembered what the final word on that was.

    pretty sure if a upc does that, it has to be specifically designed to.

    like i said , i don't remember exactly. i do seem to remember, some of them at least, specifically do not change the wave to a clean sine wave.

    it's a topic that is covered in extreme detail in the different generator threads.

    maybe it's that they put out a clean wave on their own from their batteries, but don't necessarily change a dirty wave from a non inverter generator to a clean one.
  17. nikeseer

    nikeseer Member

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2012
    Messages:
    233
    Loc:
    Central Connecticut
    You're talking greek to me with the waves and such. But I'll research. I do have a surge protector on the stove so that is a plus. We don't have very many outages during the winter. Very rare...
  18. nikeseer

    nikeseer Member

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2012
    Messages:
    233
    Loc:
    Central Connecticut
    What did you think of my videos of my stove burning on medium with feed half and damper wide open? From one cab50 owner to another. :)
  19. St_Earl

    St_Earl Minister of Fire

    Joined:
    Sep 9, 2011
    Messages:
    1,090
    Loc:
    millinocket, north central maine
    i've got the PS50. but they are essentially the same except mine has a smaller hopper.

    looked like a very good burn to me.
    the 1200 really must be a beast if that looks a little lazy to dex.
    eventually i'd like to get a 1200 for upstairs and move helga to the basement.
    i think a well heated basement in our house would allow a much cooler stove room during the really cold snaps.
    plus it would be good to have options if anything ever went wrong with either stove.

    we ran the forced air oil heat for a blast while i sorted out the auger jam a few days ago. oil heat sucks.

    first ever jam in nearly two seasons. and i don't sift.
    it was an upper/drop chute jam anyway. just a rare alignment of events.
  20. DexterDay

    DexterDay Guest

    Surge protector won't protect against a cheap generator. Generators send "Dirty" Power (Not a constant voltage like the line to your home. The voltage varies with the RPM and load on the Genny.

    Need an Inverter unit with Pure Sine Wave. Search those words here, and you will find plenty to read.
  21. nikeseer

    nikeseer Member

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2012
    Messages:
    233
    Loc:
    Central Connecticut
    Thanks. Was reading alot of different things and was making my head hurt what they were talking about. I have written it down. You all have been a wealth of info!
  22. DexterDay

    DexterDay Guest

    St. Earl- I am uploading a Video of my Quad on Med (1st time in about 2 yrs its been moved to that setting) with the gate wide open (no Draft adjustment on Quads/ thats why I say the Heatilators should stay Wide Open, like they come from the factory)

    Its a Giant Flame that is MUCH more active than Nikeseer's flame. Even if mine was 50% closed, the flame would be moving much faster.
  23. nikeseer

    nikeseer Member

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2012
    Messages:
    233
    Loc:
    Central Connecticut
    Thanks. I've run my oil heat once a month for a few hours just to put some hot water through the pipes. But its been between 54-58 in the basement all winter so far. When we used Oil it stayed about 10 degrees warmer down there but I'm only down there now to do laundry. My work desk used to be down there. Now I'm upstairs. So much better be upstairs working and now with our stove. After my jam I'm just a little obsessed with getting as much of the fines out of her as possible. Mine was the same upper/drop chute jam. Just hated it and don't want it again.
  24. nikeseer

    nikeseer Member

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2012
    Messages:
    233
    Loc:
    Central Connecticut
    Looking forward to seeing it. It will give me info to see how my dad's should be burning!
  25. DexterDay

    DexterDay Guest

    This is Med gate 100% open..

Share This Page