1. Welcome Hearth.com Guests and Visitors - Please enjoy our forums!
    Hearth.com GOLD Sponsors who help bring the site content to you:
    Hearthstone Soapstone and Cast-Iron stoves( Wood, Gas or Pellet Stoves and Inserts)

Connecting Stove pipe to Dual walled chimney pipe (existing and boxed in)

Post in 'The Hearth Room - Wood Stoves and Fireplaces' started by Apex_predetor, Oct 15, 2012.

  1. Apex_predetor

    Apex_predetor New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2012
    Messages:
    27
    I bought a house that had an existing wood burning fireplace (home built in 2005), but the previous owner took the fireplace with them (foreclosure), and I replaced it with a gas direct vent model. There is a 6" dual wall chimney pipe there that is about 30ft in height that is boxed in and sided over.

    I now want to hook up my wood stove in the basement (insulated basement) becasue I have all wood and tile floors. MArble time is heated but the rest of the living and dining areas are just not very comfy in the winter time. I want to take the "bite" off the wood floors.

    I am trying to figure out how and what I need to connect to the existing dual wall chimney pipe that is existing. I assume there is an adapter to go from single wall stove pipe to dual wall chimney pipe?

    Thanks for any help. I appreciate it.

    Helpful Sponsor Ads!





  2. begreen

    begreen Mooderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2005
    Messages:
    49,541
    Loc:
    South Puget Sound, WA
    Welcome Apex. You need to know the rating for the chimney pipe. If it is not Class A - HT then you will need to put a liner up inside this pipe. This is very important, especially if the chimney is air cooled pipe or gas vent pipe and not all fuel. Are you able to see any labels on the chimney pipe that would identify it?
  3. Apex_predetor

    Apex_predetor New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2012
    Messages:
    27
    Hmmmm, I guess I am not sure if it is Class A pipe. I guess I was assuming that if it was previously used for a wood burning fireplace (Assuming it was apprpriate for that application) I was assuming it would be appropriate for this application as well.

    Are there different levels of chimney pipe?

    Thanks for the info.
  4. Apex_predetor

    Apex_predetor New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2012
    Messages:
    27
    Oh, I wanted to mention that the chimney pipe appears to be a flexible type.
  5. Apex_predetor

    Apex_predetor New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2012
    Messages:
    27
    HEre are a few pics of what I ahve going on from teh outside.

    Attached Files:

  6. begreen

    begreen Mooderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2005
    Messages:
    49,541
    Loc:
    South Puget Sound, WA
    The picture doesn't tell us too much other than there is a rigid chimney enclosed in a chase. Have you had a stove dealer look it over?

    I'm confused. Is there a basement in the house too? There only appears to be a first and second floor, both above ground.
  7. Apex_predetor

    Apex_predetor New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2012
    Messages:
    27
    There is a basement, first floor, second floor and attic space. The wood fireplace that was removed was located on the first floor (see images) There is a before and after. You can see the direct vent dual exhaust that goes horizontal out of the back of the fireplace bumpot. There is a dual walled chimney pipe that goes striaght up (you can see these on the other images above).

    I want to put the wood stove in the basement and connect to the existing chimney pipe that is located in that sided bumpout. I will come out of the basement do a little re-framing and connect to the existing chimney pipe if I can find the proper connections from single wall to dual wall pipe, and if the chimney pipe is adequate.

    Thanks again for the help all.

    Attached Files:

  8. Apex_predetor

    Apex_predetor New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2012
    Messages:
    27
    I am looking to run my stove pipe out of my basement (block wall), and I want to go from single wall stove pipe to dual wall just before the wall. I think that is called a thimble? Sounf right?

    I have also seen a masonry/clay/steel cylinder used to run pipe through concrete walls? IS this still common practice?

    What is the best way to come out of the block wall with the new standards?

    Thanks again for the help.
  9. Mad Tom

    Mad Tom Member

    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2010
    Messages:
    244
    Loc:
    Vermont
    I call it a thimble. I have seen guys run pipe through old clay tile drain pipe through a masonry wall. There are no residential inspectors in VT so anything goes in most cases. As for me, I would buy the thimble that is made by the same manufacturer as my pipe so everything meshes nicely. Get an installation booklet with pipe diagrams and clearances from your dealer and read through it. It's not rocket science, but if you try to cob something it could go terribly wrong.
  10. DAKSY

    DAKSY Patriot Guard Rider Staff Member

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2008
    Messages:
    5,383
    Loc:
    Averill Park, NY, on Burden Lake II...
    Something like this?

    Attached Files:

  11. Apex_predetor

    Apex_predetor New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2012
    Messages:
    27
    Yes, almost exactly like that, except my chimney pipe is boxed and sided in. I have put up a few images in a previous post (I don't know how to link them right now).
  12. begreen

    begreen Mooderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2005
    Messages:
    49,541
    Loc:
    South Puget Sound, WA
    Yikes! That's a no go. Is this what you are tearing out?
  13. begreen

    begreen Mooderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2005
    Messages:
    49,541
    Loc:
    South Puget Sound, WA
  14. Apex_predetor

    Apex_predetor New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2012
    Messages:
    27
    No the right picture is a before, the left is the after with the direct vent gas fireplace. I am planning on connecting to the existing chimney pipe, that is located behind that fireplace, with a woodstove that is located in the basement.
  15. Apex_predetor

    Apex_predetor New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2012
    Messages:
    27
    I am looking into inspection services, but I ma not exactly sure of where to get the service? MAybe local fire department?
  16. begreen

    begreen Mooderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2005
    Messages:
    49,541
    Loc:
    South Puget Sound, WA
    There are a few issues to be careful about here, the chimney pipe, clearances and sizing. First you are going to have to confirm that the pipe in the chase is class A, high-temp pipe of the right diameter. You can't connect a woodstove to the current chimney if that is air cooled gas vent pipe. If it is really all fuel high temp pipe, then you will need to determine the brand in order to get mating fittings for a thimble and tee.
  17. begreen

    begreen Mooderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2005
    Messages:
    49,541
    Loc:
    South Puget Sound, WA
    I'm going to merge your two threads into one. They're on the same topic.
  18. DAKSY

    DAKSY Patriot Guard Rider Staff Member

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2008
    Messages:
    5,383
    Loc:
    Averill Park, NY, on Burden Lake II...
    That looks like a Regency Flexible DV kit coming out of your fireplace. That connects to DV gas vent in your chase. You can't use ANY of it for a wood stove. It ALL has to come out. & be replaced with Class A solid fuel chimney...
  19. Apex_predetor

    Apex_predetor New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2012
    Messages:
    27
    YEs, that is a direct vent Gas fireplace that was installed after the previous owner removed the wood burning fireplace. I have what appears to be class A, steel dual walled 8" (interior) chimney pipe that is still intact. I want to connect to that chimney pipe and install an wood burning FP in my basement. I can't seem to attach images any longer or I would show you what I ahve already installed.
  20. DAKSY

    DAKSY Patriot Guard Rider Staff Member

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2008
    Messages:
    5,383
    Loc:
    Averill Park, NY, on Burden Lake II...
    If the outside pix are showing the existing wood vent, I'd say you're gonna hafta replace ALL of it. That's not 2100 degree Class A chimney. It's 1700 degree co-axial fire place venting, & it's brand specific. It's not rated for the temperatures of a wood stove. Sorry to be the bearer of (expensive) bad news, but them's the the facts.
  21. Apex_predetor

    Apex_predetor New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2012
    Messages:
    27
    I am looking to connect to this chimney pipe. It has been suggested on this forum to get the same manufacturer, but I can't tell who makes this pipe?

    Is there any way to find out what pipe would be compatible with this pipe?

    It appears to be an 8" diameter inner pipe, steel rigid pipe, CLass A. Beyond that I don't know much.

    thanks for the help.

    Attached Files:

  22. Apex_predetor

    Apex_predetor New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2012
    Messages:
    27
  23. DAKSY

    DAKSY Patriot Guard Rider Staff Member

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2008
    Messages:
    5,383
    Loc:
    Averill Park, NY, on Burden Lake II...
    First of all it's NOT Class A. It IS wood vent, but it's 1700 degree pipe. Class A is rated at 2100 degree. Looking at it, it could be almost any manufacturer, but that's a moot point, because you can't use it for a woodstove. Take it ALL out, replace it with the Class A of your choice that is run from your basement, & you will be able to safely burn a woodstove...
  24. Apex_predetor

    Apex_predetor New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2012
    Messages:
    27
    Perhaps I am confused with the "fireplace" vs "woodstove" terminology.

    It was for a fireplace, not a woodstove. That makes sense.

    So, a fireplace only needs that 1700 degree rating, but the woodstove needs the additional protection of the 2100 degree pipe?

    Thanks again for all of the help.
  25. DAKSY

    DAKSY Patriot Guard Rider Staff Member

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2008
    Messages:
    5,383
    Loc:
    Averill Park, NY, on Burden Lake II...
    [quote="Apex_predetor, post: 1282072, member: 23974"
    So, a fireplace only needs that 1700 degree rating, but the woodstove needs the additional protection of the 2100 degree pipe?quote]

    Not exactly, but what's in there can't have a woodstove SAFELY connected to it.

Share This Page