How many pellets

• Active since 1995, Hearth.com is THE place on the internet for free information and advice about wood stoves, pellet stoves and other energy saving equipment.

We strive to provide opinions, articles, discussions and history related to Hearth Products and in a more general sense, energy issues.

We promote the EFFICIENT, RESPONSIBLE, CLEAN and SAFE use of all fuels, whether renewable or fossil.
Status
Not open for further replies.

Excell

Feeling the Heat
Oct 1, 2009
Winnipeg
This is my first year with a pellet stove in my garage . It is 500 sq ft .2X4 walls insulated .So far I have 60 bags of premium pellets so far I have been burning a bag in about three days but it is warm out . I run the stove 24 hrs a day ,but only about six to eight will it be above 40 Deg . Middle of Feb to middle of March I will be in Florida
and will have to heat with Electricity . Is 60 bags enough or should I get another 20 0r 30 ?

HEMI said:
why does the garage have to be heated when your in florida?
So it doesn't get cold...

HEMI said:
why does the garage have to be heated when your in Florida?

I do car repairs in there and I have things in there that I don't want to get frozen .It can get expensive replacing things .

Excell said:
HEMI said:
why does the garage have to be heated when your in Florida?

I do car repairs in there and I have things in there that I don't want to get frozen .It can get expensive replacing things .

Beer, eh?

In order to be absolutely certain that you have enough to keep the beer from freezing is to become a pellet pig and fill up every single nook and cranny at your place (both garage and house) with pellets.

I'd start with a 22 ton load and then you can take your time replacing what you actually burn.

You can also ask folks like macman about the fine aspects of being a prime oinker.

hoss, I'm with you one must protect their beer stash at all cost.