My dealer said...

Post in 'The Pellet Mill - Pellet and Multifuel Stoves' started by MommyOf4, Jan 29, 2013.

  1. MommyOf4

    MommyOf4
    Expand Collapse
    Feeling the Heat

    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2012
    Messages:
    361
    Likes Received:
    23
    Loc:
    Southern MD
    My stove has been having an issue where it will run for a while with no problems then start feeding pellets like crazy then shutting down and not restarting.

    Everyone here is saying that it's probably a door gasket / vacuum issue. I've told my dealer about the door gasket and what you all have said in regards to the dollar test. He keeps saying that it shouldn't have anything to do with the gasket. I called Heatilator yesterday and they are now saying it's a control box issue or a vacuum issue.

    How do I go about telling him to fix the gasket on the door without sounding rude?
     
    Collapse Signature Expand Signature

    Helpful Sponsor Ads!





  2. kinsmanstoves

    kinsmanstoves
    Expand Collapse
    Minister of Fire

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2007
    Messages:
    3,450
    Likes Received:
    491
    Loc:
    Ravenna, Ohio 44266
    If it is a vacuum issue all it takes is moving and or adding washers to the door handle. This is not rocket science. If the dealer does not want to do that YOU or your HUSBAND can do this. I have talked to you on the phone and sent you detailed directions via this forum how to do it. I am not trying to be mean but trying to help you with your issue.

    Eric
     
    Collapse Signature Expand Signature
  3. MommyOf4

    MommyOf4
    Expand Collapse
    Feeling the Heat

    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2012
    Messages:
    361
    Likes Received:
    23
    Loc:
    Southern MD
    I've done this and this doesn't seem to help. I'm still having the same issue.
     
    Collapse Signature Expand Signature
  4. kinsmanstoves

    kinsmanstoves
    Expand Collapse
    Minister of Fire

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2007
    Messages:
    3,450
    Likes Received:
    491
    Loc:
    Ravenna, Ohio 44266
    Is the door seal still not tight?
     
    Collapse Signature Expand Signature
  5. MommyOf4

    MommyOf4
    Expand Collapse
    Feeling the Heat

    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2012
    Messages:
    361
    Likes Received:
    23
    Loc:
    Southern MD
    I've brought that up with the dealer and when he looked at it, he said that it's fine.
     
    Collapse Signature Expand Signature
  6. MommyOf4

    MommyOf4
    Expand Collapse
    Feeling the Heat

    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2012
    Messages:
    361
    Likes Received:
    23
    Loc:
    Southern MD
    It's looking like the problem maybe our thermostat and the control board. Our dealer will be out next Friday. In the mean while I was planning on getting a new thermostat. Our dealer said to get a simple "two prong" thermostat. He doesn't think that it has to do with it, while my husband thinks it does. Any good suggestions (preferably something commonly found at a store)?
     
    Collapse Signature Expand Signature
    kinsmanstoves likes this.
  7. kinsmanstoves

    kinsmanstoves
    Expand Collapse
    Minister of Fire

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2007
    Messages:
    3,450
    Likes Received:
    491
    Loc:
    Ravenna, Ohio 44266
    Did it work like I said or still issues?
     
    Collapse Signature Expand Signature
  8. MommyOf4

    MommyOf4
    Expand Collapse
    Feeling the Heat

    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2012
    Messages:
    361
    Likes Received:
    23
    Loc:
    Southern MD
    My husband forgot to get the jumper cables, but we wanted better thermostats so we are just getting a new one asap.
     
    Collapse Signature Expand Signature
  9. MommyOf4

    MommyOf4
    Expand Collapse
    Feeling the Heat

    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2012
    Messages:
    361
    Likes Received:
    23
    Loc:
    Southern MD
    Collapse Signature Expand Signature
  10. kinsmanstoves

    kinsmanstoves
    Expand Collapse
    Minister of Fire

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2007
    Messages:
    3,450
    Likes Received:
    491
    Loc:
    Ravenna, Ohio 44266
    Lowes or home depot. Look at the Honeywells.
     
    Collapse Signature Expand Signature
  11. MommyOf4

    MommyOf4
    Expand Collapse
    Feeling the Heat

    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2012
    Messages:
    361
    Likes Received:
    23
    Loc:
    Southern MD
    Doesn't the Honeywell's only have a 1degree swing? I thought it needed more than that. Also, my dealer said not to get the programmable kind. What are your thoughts on it as well?
     
    Collapse Signature Expand Signature
  12. kinsmanstoves

    kinsmanstoves
    Expand Collapse
    Minister of Fire

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2007
    Messages:
    3,450
    Likes Received:
    491
    Loc:
    Ravenna, Ohio 44266
    seem to work fine for us. And remind me, is this the same dealer that can not find your problem?
     
    Collapse Signature Expand Signature
    heat seeker likes this.
  13. MommyOf4

    MommyOf4
    Expand Collapse
    Feeling the Heat

    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2012
    Messages:
    361
    Likes Received:
    23
    Loc:
    Southern MD
    HAHAHAHA!!!! Yes, why yes it is. LOL
     
    Collapse Signature Expand Signature
    kinsmanstoves likes this.
  14. smwilliamson

    smwilliamson
    Expand Collapse
    Minister of Fire

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2009
    Messages:
    4,411
    Likes Received:
    747
    Loc:
    Southcoast, MA
    I'm not 100% up on heatilators. But, I do know that quad Castile stoves, contours and sante fe's have a high limit roll out switch with auto reset. If the disc fails or the unit over heats, the feed stops until the unt cools down 40 degrees. If the thermocouple senses enought heat in the burn pot the feed will restart but the igniter will not come on and there may not be enough coals to restart the fire. The result.... A ton of unburned pellets and a fault so the unit will not restart.

    The problem you are having, if in fact is a hot restart would ONLY be a control issue. Your dealer should test your box in another machine and see if the problem replicates.

    This is what I know from quads that use the same 3 speed control box.

    You may also have a thermostat that is opening and closing contacts but the thermocouple should detect enough heat to bypass a hot start
     
    Collapse Signature Expand Signature
  15. kinsmanstoves

    kinsmanstoves
    Expand Collapse
    Minister of Fire

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2007
    Messages:
    3,450
    Likes Received:
    491
    Loc:
    Ravenna, Ohio 44266
    Heatilators have had an issue with the thermostats. I told her yesterday to unhook the wires at the unit and run a jumper. Let the unit run for a while to see what happens.
     
    Collapse Signature Expand Signature
  16. saladdin

    saladdin
    Expand Collapse
    Feeling the Heat

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2011
    Messages:
    345
    Likes Received:
    66
    Loc:
    West Tennessee
    I've followed Kins' advice with the door washer befored and it solved my problem of feeding burning then shutting down. I would give it a shot. Takes 5 minutes.
     
    Collapse Signature Expand Signature
    kinsmanstoves likes this.
  17. MommyOf4

    MommyOf4
    Expand Collapse
    Feeling the Heat

    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2012
    Messages:
    361
    Likes Received:
    23
    Loc:
    Southern MD
    We tried that and it didn't work.
     
    Collapse Signature Expand Signature
  18. whlago

    whlago
    Expand Collapse
    Feeling the Heat

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2011
    Messages:
    294
    Likes Received:
    50
    Loc:
    NW Connecticut
    Shouldn't it operate fine in manual mode if it were the thermostat?
     
    Collapse Signature Expand Signature
  19. imacman

    imacman
    Expand Collapse
    Guest

    I agree. Remove the stat connection on the board & re-install the jumper wire, or just remove wires at the stat & twist together.
    If the stove runs normally like this, you know for sure it's the stat.
     
  20. kinsmanstoves

    kinsmanstoves
    Expand Collapse
    Minister of Fire

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2007
    Messages:
    3,450
    Likes Received:
    491
    Loc:
    Ravenna, Ohio 44266
    The wires might be the issue also. It is best to start with new wires and t-stat.
     
    Collapse Signature Expand Signature
  21. MommyOf4

    MommyOf4
    Expand Collapse
    Feeling the Heat

    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2012
    Messages:
    361
    Likes Received:
    23
    Loc:
    Southern MD
    Is there anything special to look for when I buy the thermostat? Lowes website tells me which ones will work with a pellet stove, but hoping to go to Ace or Home Depot since they are closer to me.
     
    Collapse Signature Expand Signature
  22. saladdin

    saladdin
    Expand Collapse
    Feeling the Heat

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2011
    Messages:
    345
    Likes Received:
    66
    Loc:
    West Tennessee
    Have a cab50. Check my sig for thermostat.
     
    Collapse Signature Expand Signature
    kinsmanstoves likes this.
  23. MommyOf4

    MommyOf4
    Expand Collapse
    Feeling the Heat

    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2012
    Messages:
    361
    Likes Received:
    23
    Loc:
    Southern MD
    Did you buy it online or home depot?
     
    Collapse Signature Expand Signature
  24. saladdin

    saladdin
    Expand Collapse
    Feeling the Heat

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2011
    Messages:
    345
    Likes Received:
    66
    Loc:
    West Tennessee
    Collapse Signature Expand Signature
  25. MommyOf4

    MommyOf4
    Expand Collapse
    Feeling the Heat

    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2012
    Messages:
    361
    Likes Received:
    23
    Loc:
    Southern MD
    Collapse Signature Expand Signature

Share This Page

Entire Site copyright © 1995-2016 - email to webinfo@hearth.com
Hearth.com and HearthNet are property and trademarks of Hearth.com LLC Advertising Information