Pellet price increases

• Active since 1995, Hearth.com is THE place on the internet for free information and advice about wood stoves, pellet stoves and other energy saving equipment.

We strive to provide opinions, articles, discussions and history related to Hearth Products and in a more general sense, energy issues.

We promote the EFFICIENT, RESPONSIBLE, CLEAN and SAFE use of all fuels, whether renewable or fossil.
Status
Not open for further replies.

Caribfan

Feb 4, 2012
Southern Maine
Newbie here. I see a few references in different threads to steadily increasing pellet prices over the years - especially in 2008. Can anyone give any specifics. I just bought a Mt Vernon AE fs and have visions of saving "some major bank" as my son would say. I know everything goes up in price over time how much has the cost of pellets gone up over recent years? I have read the mega-thread on Pellets Direct in southern Mass so I know that there are some deals to be had but generally how much have prices increased?

I believe prices are higher in your area but in all they seem to be steady between 4-6$ a bag. Always cheaper to buy per ton and pellets seem to be more available now more then in the past years. Always look at big dept stores like Lowes and Home Depot for good pellets at good prices. I cant see pellets ever getting to the level of oil and gas prices! Has been cheaper and worth it using my stove to heat my home.

generally speaking, pellet prices are cheaper in late Spring than fall and winter....but thats not always the case. In 15 or so years of selling them, we've seen prices all over the place, depending upon the deals the pellet manufacturers were offering at the time......

This is only my second year heating, but I have realized big savings over oil.

The most important thing about it is that my house is a lot warmer and comfortable with pellet heat.

I compare a ton of pellets to a hundred gallons of oil for cost.