1. Welcome Hearth.com Guests and Visitors - Please enjoy our forums!
    Hearth.com GOLD Sponsors who help bring the site content to you:
    Hearthstone Soapstone and Cast-Iron stoves( Wood, Gas or Pellet Stoves and Inserts)
    Caluwe - Passion for Fire and Water ( Pellet and Wood Hydronic and Space Heating)

Problems with brand new Harmen Accentra

Post in 'The Pellet Mill - Pellet and Multifuel Stoves' started by Tara B, Feb 3, 2013.

  1. Tara B

    Tara B New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2013
    Messages:
    14
    We just purchased a brand new Harman Accentra on Friday. Husband installed it himself yesterday. When we went to start it up, nothing.... the fans came on, but no pellet feed. Tried several times(did the "test" mode too) and nothing. Disappointed to say the least. Dealer is closed until Tuesday and a five hour round trip drive.

    This morning husband check the vent, looked good, took off the bottom put it back and when we started, it worked!! Oh it was wonderful! It actually got HOT in here! After the "test" we had it set on auto ignite, room temp and 4 for the feed. It ran several hours wonderfully. As it got hot, we turned the "room temp" down and over time the fire died out. Out of curiosity we turned the room temp back up to see if it would feed/ignite again. NOTHING. Unplugged it, waited, plugged in, nothing. Removed bottom vent cap again, replaced (that was the trick that seemed to get it going this morning) nothing. SO FRUSTRATING!

    We installed it where we formally had a wood stove, so it is installed as in "preferred method #2" shown in manual, minus the Outside Air.

    So, it's worked(and rather great) one time out of SEVERAL attempts. I am thinking this has to be something simple we're overlooking or not aware of as we are new to pellet stoves. We've been burning wood for a quarter of a century now though.

    I did read the sticky on What Your Harman Owners Manual Wont Tell YOu. Great info ,but I am not finding my problem. Any thoughts or ideas of what we're overlooking?
    Thanks for any help, we didn't buy more wood, counting on this stove, dont' want to get too cold ; )

    Helpful Sponsor Ads!





  2. Mr. Spock

    Mr. Spock Minister of Fire

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2013
    Messages:
    597
    Loc:
    SW MA
    The vent you are referring to, is that the clean out tee?
    Is the power led lit on the control board when it does not operate? Is the temp probe connected and connections seated well? Where is the probe located. Make sure the hopper lid seals are in good condition and the hopper lid tight.
    Will the stove run in stove temp mode? Check this things out and let us know what you find.
  3. newf lover

    newf lover Minister of Fire

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2008
    Messages:
    651
    Loc:
    Eastern CT
    Page 32 in the manual, is the damper plate stuck? Sounds like a draft issue. Under the burn pot is a plate held on by 2 wing nuts, are they tight?
    I agree, it's probably something simple. If a door is open, or the hopper isn't properly closed, it won't feed. Also, this isn't the cause of the problem, but when it was operating, when you turned up the temp to make it start feeding again, how long did you wait? When my stove is powering down, it doesn't always respond immediately when I turn the temp up. I wouldn't be too quick to unplug it. It also takes a long time to shut down.
  4. CJ_starr

    CJ_starr New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2013
    Messages:
    18
    Loc:
    NH
    When the venting was installed, did you use the Harman wall passthrough outside air kit? If so, there is a felt cover in the hole where the intake flex connects, make sure that felt cover is cut out so the draft is correct.
  5. glenc0322

    glenc0322 Minister of Fire

    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2011
    Messages:
    606
    Loc:
    long Island NY
    Is there any blinking codes on the control board?
  6. Tara B

    Tara B New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2013
    Messages:
    14
    ***Hanging head in embarrassment*** In this particular case, today, I didn't have the hopper lid closed properly closed. I had two pellets on the rim. It started right up once that was corrected. Not only that, but it got plenty warm, stopped burning, then RELIT itself!! So, for the most part I think we're good to go, though we did have to remove the "clean tee." It continues to work once it's replaced though. Not sure what that' about. All day yesterday/last night as we were trying the hopper lid wasn't the problem, so there is some issue with that vent. Looking over rest of posts now.

    WOW!! So many replies, and so quick! Thanks so much for everyone's helpfulness. I am going to LOVE this stove once we learn all the little things we need to learn. So much cleaner than wood, no mess. No more smelling like a walking fire place.
  7. Mr. Spock

    Mr. Spock Minister of Fire

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2013
    Messages:
    597
    Loc:
    SW MA
    Lol. Hey no worries we were all "newbies" at one point.

    Glad your up and running. Enjoy the stove, it's a good one.

    Keep an eye on it and let us know if the issue comes back.
    Tara B likes this.
  8. Tara B

    Tara B New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2013
    Messages:
    14
    My husband just left for a while, but I'll have to ask him about this. We used whatever the dealer sent us home with.. I am assuming it's Harman. I did notice there is a little rope looking thing in there, is that what you're talking about? If so, that's still in there...
  9. Tara B

    Tara B New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2013
    Messages:
    14
    Working now, but no, when we try and start up and are having issues, there are no blinking lights. Just the feeder light does not come on and feeder doesn't feed. Seems to be something to do with the venting, which seems odd that it would keep the feeder from working, but that seems to be the case.
  10. will711

    will711 Minister of Fire

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2011
    Messages:
    1,204
    Loc:
    Pocono mts.
    Don't think so not according to the OP's 1st post


    If you are looking through the exhaust port the little rope thing is your ESP Don't bend fold or mutilate it :) It will cost $$.
  11. glenc0322

    glenc0322 Minister of Fire

    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2011
    Messages:
    606
    Loc:
    long Island NY
    If you are having a blockage in the venting there is back pressure in the stove. So the stove does not want to feed pellets to create a fire in the pot when there is no where for the smoke to go its a safety feature. If you can take a picture of your exhaust set up and let some of the members look at it and help you out.
  12. will711

    will711 Minister of Fire

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2011
    Messages:
    1,204
    Loc:
    Pocono mts.
    I could be off base here but that's what a Harman does in room temp mode . Once it reaches set temp it will shut down until the probe senses it needs heat and it will start up again.

    I'm a wood burner also if you want a constant fire like a wood burner use Stove Temp mode auto.

    Just my 2 cents:)
  13. CJ_starr

    CJ_starr New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2013
    Messages:
    18
    Loc:
    NH
    I found that stove temp works best for me. Nice consistant heat. I like the fact that I have control over the feed rate at all times. Nice feature.
  14. Hoot23

    Hoot23 Minister of Fire

    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2012
    Messages:
    919
    Loc:
    Alfred, Me
    I had a thread on this. My wife did the same thing, only the stove stayed lit but very lazy flame. Gotta watch those stray pellets. Enjoy.
  15. ivanhoe

    ivanhoe Feeling the Heat

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2008
    Messages:
    262
    Loc:
    great white northern ontario
    welcome to the best pellet stove forum! make a list of all pellet suppliers in the area and read the forum comments on which pellets members recommend and enjoy the warmth of a efficient stove. also get yourself a surge protector for the stove, Tripp Lite Direct Plug-In Isobar Surge Protector!
  16. rickwai

    rickwai Feeling the Heat

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2011
    Messages:
    289
    Loc:
    ohio
    If it is a vac issue or hopper lid switch issue the feed light will still come on but it will not feed. The vac switch interupts the neutral on auger and igniter. circuit board does not know anything about vac switch. It will power auger but it will not run because neutral is interupted by vac switch. Also it will still feed if felt is still in pass thru or damper flappper is stuck it just wont burn very good or at all, This senario will cause plenty of vac to close switch. If vac switch is not making there is a blockage/ restriction beyond the fan. If there are no feed light it is a fault in stove or it is not turned up enough ect. It is a pretty simple set-up.
  17. Tara B

    Tara B New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2013
    Messages:
    14
    Thanks everyone for the warm welcome, great advice, and for not making me feel as dumb as I already do for not double checking the hopper lid ; )
    LOVING our stove now that it is up and running. I actually had to turn it down last night as my house got a little too warm. That has NEVER happened even with a fire place and wood stove running at the same time! It was great to go to bed, and wake up to a warm house this morning and not have to be searching for kindling, newspaper, etc to get a fire going. The house was already a warm, comfortable 70 degrees. AWESOME! We put off getting a pellet stove for years as I just wasn't sure it was worth the investment, but I am sold now and wondering why on earth we waited so long! Will be scanning these boards to learn more, looks like a cool place to hang out, you're all so friendly and helpful!
    Harman Lover 007 likes this.
  18. glenc0322

    glenc0322 Minister of Fire

    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2011
    Messages:
    606
    Loc:
    long Island NY
    Dont feel bad its a learning curve with these stoves and as far as waiting so long that is the biggest complaint from everyone. Enjoy the stove and stay on this site there are plenty of people with a lot of knowledge and the best part they are willing to share. ENJOY being warm and saving money
  19. Lousyweather

    Lousyweather Guest

    I feel I must congratulate the OP for coming clean with the pellets on the lid issue. All too many folks are quick to blame the unit and/or dealer when oftentimes its something easily solved and explained. Its also a good way to learn. Also, note that the front door being left open will cause the same result.
  20. Tara B

    Tara B New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2013
    Messages:
    14
    New problem...As the house warms, as expected, the Stove turns itself off. As the house cools down, it does NOT start back up by itself. I Turned the temp WAY up ALL the way and have waited several hours and nothing. This is at room temp setting. The temp is set for 90 now, house is in the 60's and nothing. The hopper lid IS closed(**blushing**) Set for Auto ignite, room temp(90 degrees), 4 for the feed.

    Any ideas? Am I doing something wrong? When it warms and goes out, I leave everything as is. Today the combustion fan ran for HOURS after the fire was completely out and cooled. Is that normal? Sure this is something simple I am overlooking again.
  21. Justin M

    Justin M Feeling the Heat

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2008
    Messages:
    256
    Loc:
    Southbury, CT
  22. Harman Lover 007

    Harman Lover 007 Minister of Fire

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2010
    Messages:
    1,276
    Loc:
    Eastern Mass & Lakes Region of Maine
    Is the status light flashing? If so, how many blinks? With the stove in off, unplug it for about a minute and plug it back in. Put the feed rate knob in test mode. Pellets should feed and all of the fans should operate. Do they? If it still won't light, in order to get the house warmed up, switch the stove to stove temp manual, put some pellets in the hopper and light it with a propane torch. If you don't have a torch, use hand sanitizer gel all over the top of the pellets and light it with a match. In this mode the stove will not shut off unless it runs out of pellets. Let us know.
  23. Tara B

    Tara B New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2013
    Messages:
    14
    No Flashing light. Found out my husband had this problem the night before. This last time we didn't try the test mode, but the night before he did and nothing. What finally started it the first night was once again removing the cap to the bottom of the piping just briefly. Last night all he did was move the foam where the outside air would go. The dealer told us to remove this, so we're going to do that. So, it seems to be something with the venting??? It WILL relight with these measures, but the appeal to us was that it would die down as the house warmed and relight as it cooled. No biggie when we're home, but an annoyance for when we'll be gone all day as the temperature can drop rather quickly. This weekend when he's home, I'll have my husband remove that foam and double check our venting system and see if that helps. Of course we're expecting cold and snow starting tomorrow night. Actually this seems to run great as it gets colder, a little more touchy as it's warmer. I am super sensitive to the cold and like my house almost uncomfortably warm, so maybe I have too high expectations? When it's running though, it does a super great job. Already discovering some pellets are better than others. Some are a total waste of money, I burn two bags for every one of another. Regardless of whatever little issue/kinks we still have to work out, which probably have more to do with our self-installation, I am one happy camper. Our dealer has been great too, walking us through all the potential things that could be our problem, etc.. so no complaints from me, just need to learn more about how it operates and all. Not missing hauling wood in from outside at all! : )
  24. Harman Lover 007

    Harman Lover 007 Minister of Fire

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2010
    Messages:
    1,276
    Loc:
    Eastern Mass & Lakes Region of Maine
    It does sound like a venting or air intake problem. What is the foam you speak of? There should be nothing blocking the air intake. In your OP you stated that you were hooked up to the venting from your old woodstove. Please describe all of the piping, including size from the stove to the chimney. That will help us "see" what you are talking about. Do you have an outside air kit (OAK) installed or not? We're here to help!!
  25. glenc0322

    glenc0322 Minister of Fire

    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2011
    Messages:
    606
    Loc:
    long Island NY
    If possible take some pictures and post them also list your stove in your signature. It will help out in future posts

Share This Page