1. Welcome Hearth.com Guests and Visitors - Please enjoy our forums!
    Hearth.com GOLD Sponsors who help bring the site content to you:
    Hearthstone Soapstone and Cast-Iron stoves( Wood, Gas or Pellet Stoves and Inserts)

Question about ash build-up in Harman Insert

Post in 'The Pellet Mill - Pellet and Multifuel Stoves' started by thesyguy, Mar 25, 2008.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. thesyguy

    thesyguy New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2008
    Messages:
    10
    Loc:
    Southeastern Mass
    I had a Harman Accentra Insert intalled last week and am unsure if I am having a problem with ash build-up or if this is normal. The pictures below are less than 24 hours after a cleaning.

    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]

    Is this amount of ash after less than 24 hrs normal? I was burning Ambiance pellets given to my by the store I bought the insert from. After 3 bags, I switched to Nature's Own Fuel pellets I purchased at Lowes. The ash amount was the same with both brands. Any help would be appreciated.

    Vinny

    Helpful Sponsor Ads!





  2. Dougsey

    Dougsey Feeling the Heat

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2006
    Messages:
    334
    Loc:
    Epping, NH
    Looks pretty normal to me.
  3. Souzafone

    Souzafone Feeling the Heat

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2007
    Messages:
    305
    Loc:
    Freetown, Massachusetts
    It's been a little warmer lately so your stove is probably burning at a lower rate. If you crank up the temp, the increased burn rate should push the ashes out quicker.
  4. mgambuzza

    mgambuzza Member

    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2006
    Messages:
    204
    Loc:
    Syracuse, NY
    I was getting the same ash buildup with some brands of pellets, but Natures Own from Lowes seemed one of the better brands. There was one brand I bought last year that did the same thing and this much buildup would happen within a couple of hours, almost exhausting the flame. As some of the others said - try running at a higher temp and rate and see if the same happens.
  5. sparkydog00

    sparkydog00 Feeling the Heat

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2007
    Messages:
    335
    Loc:
    N. Central Mass
    I have the same insert....and if your stove is burning on lo settings than this is to be expected. The Ambience pellets are a good quality brand that I have burned before without incident.
    You should just open the door and scrape them out. They will fall easily. I think it has something to do with the burn rate being too low and the new pellets aren't coming out with enough frequency to push the old ash out.
    Don't worry be happy.
  6. thesyguy

    thesyguy New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2008
    Messages:
    10
    Loc:
    Southeastern Mass
    Thanks for all the replies. I do have the rate running low. If I crank it up any more I will roast! I will just clean it daily for now and not worry about it!
  7. The Patriot

    The Patriot New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2007
    Messages:
    96
    Loc:
    Southeastern Mass
    That amount of ash in the burn pot seems excessive to me, but Accentra owners have responded otherwise. I burn a different Harman (P68), but they basically work the same.

    As SparkyDog said, I think your rate may be low. Also, are you running on Manual/Room Temp? If you are running on manual, I could see more ash building up on warm days because the stove stays lit with very little pellets going into the burn pot. In Auto Mode, the stove would turn off when it was warmer, and probably run longer with pellets going in faster when it turns back on, there by pushing out more ash.
  8. tinkabranc

    tinkabranc Minister of Fire

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2007
    Messages:
    1,641
    Loc:
    South Coast MA
    Be sure to scrape the burnpot peridocially to keep all the holes
    clear of clinkers. Running on low will clog them up fast.
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Share This Page