Severely disappointed in heat output of 25-PDV

Post in 'The Pellet Mill - Pellet and Multifuel Stoves' started by grunyon, Jan 25, 2013.

  1. imacman

    imacman
    Expand Collapse
    Guest

    If there is no jumper wire inserted in the connections for the stat, you've found your problem....the stove is just running on lo fire all the time.
     

    Helpful Sponsor Ads!





  2. grunyon

    grunyon
    Expand Collapse
    Member

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2013
    Messages:
    50
    Likes Received:
    0
    Let me take a few pictures.
     
  3. imacman

    imacman
    Expand Collapse
    Guest

    Thermal sensor wire is fine....it only has 2 wires even though the plug has spots for 3.
     
  4. grunyon

    grunyon
    Expand Collapse
    Member

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2013
    Messages:
    50
    Likes Received:
    0
  5. imacman

    imacman
    Expand Collapse
    Guest

    Looks fine.
     
  6. grunyon

    grunyon
    Expand Collapse
    Member

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2013
    Messages:
    50
    Likes Received:
    0
    I am going to power down the stove and take each connector off and put each connector right back on again. Reseat everything. There is nothing attached to "vacuum bypass" I assume this is normal?
     
  7. imacman

    imacman
    Expand Collapse
    Guest

    Don't think so. Only vacuum connection should be the Vacuum Sensor connection.
     
  8. imacman

    imacman
    Expand Collapse
    Guest

    Latest update?
     
  9. ericofmaine

    ericofmaine
    Expand Collapse
    Member

    Joined:
    Feb 8, 2012
    Messages:
    69
    Likes Received:
    6
    Loc:
    Southern Maine
    Yes, this is normal. You would shunt that if you wanted to bypass the vacuum switch for testing or troubleshooting purposes.

    Eric
     
    Collapse Signature Expand Signature
  10. grunyon

    grunyon
    Expand Collapse
    Member

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2013
    Messages:
    50
    Likes Received:
    0
    I just got home from work. I really wish I could figure this thing out but I can't. I ran it on a heat setting of 4-9 for about six hours last night and the 12x14 living room the unit sits on only reached 68 degrees. This is with the upstairs and basement blocked off and the spare bedroom and bathroom doors closed. This is probably only about 650 sq feet... and the kitchen + master bedroom were at 64 degrees.

    This is really driving me nuts I wish I could figure it out. In a few minutes I'm going to work on taking it out and getting it ready for Home Depot to pick it up and deliver a new one.

    Again I wish I knew what was up so I could fix it in the future if it ever happens again. Makes no sense...
     
  11. grunyon

    grunyon
    Expand Collapse
    Member

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2013
    Messages:
    50
    Likes Received:
    0
    Taking things apart, there is a fairly large amount of ash in the chimney
     
  12. imacman

    imacman
    Expand Collapse
    Guest

    Hmmmmmm
     
  13. grunyon

    grunyon
    Expand Collapse
    Member

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2013
    Messages:
    50
    Likes Received:
    0
    Found a buddy to help me drag it out. Not waiting until the Friday delivery date. Hopefully the new one is warmer. I'll be back
     
  14. Thaddius Wenderoth

    Thaddius Wenderoth
    Expand Collapse
    Feeling the Heat

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2013
    Messages:
    249
    Likes Received:
    76
    Not even going to clean out the chimney and fire it back up just to appease curiosity?
     
    Collapse Signature Expand Signature
  15. grunyon

    grunyon
    Expand Collapse
    Member

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2013
    Messages:
    50
    Likes Received:
    0
    Nah. By a lot of ash I didn't mean that it could have been choking it. I more meant that it looks like this thing is burning dirty.
     
  16. imacman

    imacman
    Expand Collapse
    Guest

    Before you hook another stove to that exhaust, I'd be VERY sure it's all clean and clear.
     
  17. Shaw520

    Shaw520
    Expand Collapse
    Feeling the Heat

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2012
    Messages:
    426
    Likes Received:
    175
    Loc:
    Modena
    Yes,... and the termination cap is clear/clean,.. and leave the oak off for initial start up and trial just to eliminate any other sources of restriction until the stove is operating at full efficiency.
     
    Collapse Signature Expand Signature
    Thaddius Wenderoth likes this.
  18. imacman

    imacman
    Expand Collapse
    Guest

    First of all, the NEWP pellets are below average, at best. They've been this way for the past 3-4 years, especially the ones from the upstate NY plant.

    I see that you say you "torn the thing completely apart".....you removed the combustion blower and cleaned it and replaced the gasket?

    While that was out, you cleaned inside the plenum it sits in?

    Did you remove the impingment plate and bang on the rear wall with a mallet or hammer to dislodge any burned-on crud in the ash trap?

    The wear plate and burn pot were removed, cleaned and the holes were all cleaned?

    Do you have a leaf blower that has the vacuum suction side? Search this forum for the "leaf blower trick".

    What are the settings on the lower 3 buttons?

    BTW, next time please start your own thread.....most people won't see yours buried at the end of someone else's thread.
     
  19. Wolfwood

    Wolfwood
    Expand Collapse
    New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2013
    Messages:
    14
    Likes Received:
    0
    Sry for thread hijack will create new thread and cont from there.
     

Share This Page

Entire Site copyright © 1995-2016 - email to webinfo@hearth.com
Hearth.com and HearthNet are property and trademarks of Hearth.com LLC Advertising Information