What questions should I ask when shopping for a wood stove?

• Active since 1995, Hearth.com is THE place on the internet for free information and advice about wood stoves, pellet stoves and other energy saving equipment.

We strive to provide opinions, articles, discussions and history related to Hearth Products and in a more general sense, energy issues.

We promote the EFFICIENT, RESPONSIBLE, CLEAN and SAFE use of all fuels, whether renewable or fossil.
Status
Not open for further replies.

JerryT

Oct 27, 2010
SW Missouri
New guy here and I'm considering buying a woodstove to heat my house, which is a single story open floor with 1100 sq.ft. I will have propane as a backup but plan to use the wood as the primary heat source. However I'm a firefighter and my work schedule keeps me away for 24 hours at a time so this might cause a problem, not sure. Anyway, just wanting some ideas as to what features to look for, what to maybe stay away from, ect. I'd like to stay in the 3-4000 dollar range as I'm also going to need a double wall pipe about 15 feet or so long. Not opposed to buying a good used higher end stove either, if I could find one. Also, what is the tax credit I've been seeing mentioned on here? Thanks for any and all advice!!

Welcome to the forum Jaytee.

For the size you mention, may I highly recommend the Woodstock Fireview. Woodstock Stoves

We heat around that size and we purchased our Fireview before the winter of 2007-2008. This is our only source of heat and we did question if it were enough stove for us. For sure it is beautiful, but it also has to produce. Well, produce it has!

Previously we averaged 6 cord of wood per year to heat our home. We did not freeze but the house was not that warm in the dead of winter. Enter the Fireview. We have burned it for 3 winters now and starting on the 4th. In each of the 3 winters we have burned 3 cords. Actually it was a little under 3 last winter but close enough to call it 3 cord.