Any better way to cover wood racks?

• Active since 1995, Hearth.com is THE place on the internet for free information and advice about wood stoves, pellet stoves and other energy saving equipment.

We strive to provide opinions, articles, discussions and history related to Hearth Products and in a more general sense, energy issues.

We promote the EFFICIENT, RESPONSIBLE, CLEAN and SAFE use of all fuels, whether renewable or fossil.

wetwood4life

Oct 29, 2022
Central MA
I'm new to wood burning, going into our 3rd year with the stove. We have a small property and cannot build a wood shed for a variety of reasons.

First year we stacked on pallets & covered with a tarp. That was fine, but hard to organize the wood through the burning season (like rejecting wet or large pieces).

Second year we built the popular 2x4 + cinder block racks & covered with a tarp. These worked great, but I'm having a hard time keeping the wood dry. The tarps have a bunch of holes in them after just one season. I know they're about a foot too short - but when it rains both ends and both faces end up getting soaked.

Does anyone have a good solution that works for these types of racks? I want to keep the wood rack dry, and keep the wood accessible like not needing to crawl around under the tarp as the wood burns down. Thanks in advance, I'm not too good with these types of problems/solutions.

PXL_20230723_210323479.jpg

The rack of wood should only be top-covered so that air can freely blow through it. The right side rack is good, the left side is too covered.

A few pictures. I use long lag screws to screw the uprights into the firewood. Note the air space on top.