any thoughts on buying a used soapstone

• Active since 1995, Hearth.com is THE place on the internet for free information and advice about wood stoves, pellet stoves and other energy saving equipment.

We strive to provide opinions, articles, discussions and history related to Hearth Products and in a more general sense, energy issues.

We promote the EFFICIENT, RESPONSIBLE, CLEAN and SAFE use of all fuels, whether renewable or fossil.
Status
Not open for further replies.

mikesgirl1990

Hearth Supporter
Sep 7, 2007
I have lurked on here for ages and have narowed my choice of stove to buy down to a woodstock soapstone. I may have an opportunity to buy one used it is about 20 yrs old and seem to be in good condition. Do you all have any advice about this--is there any reason why not to buy second hand, is there anything I should look at or questions I should ask of the owner???
thanks
leah

I am by no means an expert, but there are many knowledgable people in this forum that can advise you on this. My first thought though is that a 20 year old stove is not going to be nearly as efficient as a current technology stove.

It is not the soapstone but the fact that it is a 20 year old stove that would make me pass. We can't even install non-certified stoves here in WA so it would have very little value.

Give Woodstock a call and tell them what your up to. Maybe they can tell you more about that 20 year old stove.