Anyone know what this is?

• Active since 1995, Hearth.com is THE place on the internet for free information and advice about wood stoves, pellet stoves and other energy saving equipment.

We strive to provide opinions, articles, discussions and history related to Hearth Products and in a more general sense, energy issues.

We promote the EFFICIENT, RESPONSIBLE, CLEAN and SAFE use of all fuels, whether renewable or fossil.
Status
Not open for further replies.

BoilerMan

Minister of Fire
Apr 16, 2012
Northern Maine
Three of these fell but I can't seem to figure out what kind of tree it is. My guess is some type of aspen.......... Thick deeply furrowed gray bark, new top groath a silver white. Leaves are about 1.5" long. I'm guessing it's junk wood, but would like to know before comitting to a price to DSC02690.JPGDSC02689.JPG haul it off.

TS

I'm not too good with ID with leaves but your description and comment about aspen makes me wonder. Most aspen around here is a silver white but not deep furrowed at the bottom they are fairly smooth all the way up.
Also I like your last statement on your list.

We have lots of Aspen... Poplar.... weed trees here. The bottom of the leaves are almost white with no hair, the tops are a bit plastic looking. I just don't want to end up like I did last year with 2 cord of "free" basswood :mad: won't even burn in the campfire..............................

TS

Leaf don't resemble Aspen I'm familiar with.
Aspen bark is smooth, mostly white with gray patches.
Aspen leaf:
aspen.jpeg

Nice avatar, Dave. I suppose you just walked out in your back yard and snapped a picture.

Reactions: ScotO
Nice avatar, Dave. I suppose you just walked out in your back yard and snapped a picture.

Thanks
Actually a friend few miles away got the picture yesterday with a better camera than mine.
They sent it & I thought it would make a nice avatar to replace the my walrus pic.
Different eagle.
Here's one of our local eagles. See the difference?