Archery.. and kids

• Active since 1995, Hearth.com is THE place on the internet for free information and advice about wood stoves, pellet stoves and other energy saving equipment.

We strive to provide opinions, articles, discussions and history related to Hearth Products and in a more general sense, energy issues.

We promote the EFFICIENT, RESPONSIBLE, CLEAN and SAFE use of all fuels, whether renewable or fossil.
Status
Not open for further replies.

Ashful

Minister of Fire
Mar 7, 2012
Philadelphia
So, my son started asking for a "bow and arrow" last year. He was 5. Figured he's too young to even have the required coordination.

Now he's six, and still asking. Well, I guess I started shooting target (.22 cal) at age 6, so that precedent is set.

Who here has kids into archery? What was your experience? What can one expect at age 6?

Also, I have my father's old Bear recurve bow, which needs restrung and a new grip and rest. Any sources for that would be appreciated.

Reactions: Ashful
My family is an outdoor family. We hunt and fish. I will refrain from posting pics as it's not politically correct :)

My youngest son had his first bow at 5 years old. He would target practice in the yard. Now he is 15. On Saturday he took his first whitetail deer. 130# doe. I believe in outdoor activities such as bow shooting for both target shooting and hunting.

Society today does not let children be children. Get the boy a bow, and a target and blow some balloons up, attach them to the target and enjoy the time with him. He will grow up to be a young man with memories other than technological junk.....

Have fun!!