Big tree going down today (137') WITH VIDEO AND PICS

• Active since 1995, Hearth.com is THE place on the internet for free information and advice about wood stoves, pellet stoves and other energy saving equipment.

We strive to provide opinions, articles, discussions and history related to Hearth Products and in a more general sense, energy issues.

We promote the EFFICIENT, RESPONSIBLE, CLEAN and SAFE use of all fuels, whether renewable or fossil.
Status
Not open for further replies.

FireAnt

Minister of Fire
Hearth Supporter
Dec 18, 2009
Central CT
Getting a 110' Cottonwood cut down today. Also a nice Shag bark Hickory. Gonna keep the cotton wood since I am just starting out and need to get my other wood seasoned. I will mix it in with the other hardwood I have ready to go for 2010-11.

Get some pic's?

Oh yeah!

FireAnt said:

nice to get a video of that monster falling down...(from a safe distance of course)

Good luck with the cottonwood. When I was first starting out, I cut one like you describe. I busted ass on that thing for a couple weeks. Was not pleasant to split. But I got it done. Stacked and ready for winter...I trhink I burned the entire tree in a weekend...DOH.

RAY_PA said:
Good luck with the cottonwood. When I was first starting out, I cut one like you describe. I busted ass on that thing for a couple weeks. Was not pleasant to split. But I got it done. Stacked and ready for winter...I trhink I burned the entire tree in a weekend...DOH.
Now that's funny, and a lot of truth also.

Ok tree is down I will post pics soon. I need to figure out video though. Total height 137'.

Here is the video. The Shag bark in view was cut down next. I got a better angle of the drop but can't get it off my camera yet. My dad got this angle. Just want to also give a plug for "Passion for Trees" out of Southington CT. Top notch work!!

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=uM73eADYYAU

^I just love it when a tree smashes real powerfully into the ground like that.