Box elder, take it or leave it?

• Active since 1995, Hearth.com is THE place on the internet for free information and advice about wood stoves, pellet stoves and other energy saving equipment.

We strive to provide opinions, articles, discussions and history related to Hearth Products and in a more general sense, energy issues.

We promote the EFFICIENT, RESPONSIBLE, CLEAN and SAFE use of all fuels, whether renewable or fossil.

DonTee

Minister of Fire
Dec 1, 2021
Upstate NY
I have a job cutting up an already down box elder. I think it’s about 1/2 cord of firewood. I can either take the rounds with me, or pile them up for someone else to take. It’s a family friend I’m doing the job for, and they might know someone else who wants the wood if I don’t.

I have no experience that I know of with box elder. I don’t have it growing on my property. Is it worth it to throw the rounds on my trailer and bring them home with me?

I’m already years ahead on firewood, but have a hard time saying no to free wood.

good for shoulder season. it burns quick. i burnt 5 cord of it. it's not for deep cold unless you like feeding the stove

Ok thanks. I think a lot of this wood might too punky to take unfortunately. It has some punk in the middle, and the red ring I think is a sign of decay

5D2870E5-8F72-4FF3-BD51-A273CBEAB80F.jpeg

I’d take some/all of it if I had extra space. I’m not picky. Is it manageable size? I’m not going to break my back trying to get anything free.

I can cut it up whatever size I want. If I’m not taking it though I can leave it bigger. And if it’s all punky I can just push it into the brush pile with the tractor.

Edit: Seems like it’s getting worse the farther I cut into it. Probably why it fell over I guess. Haha.

E5870835-4A4F-41CB-A438-67CC5956DD30.jpeg

It fell on this boat trailer. Luckily I was able to rescue the trailer. It just suffered a broken bunk and bent bunk mount.