Burn time

• Active since 1995, Hearth.com is THE place on the internet for free information and advice about wood stoves, pellet stoves and other energy saving equipment.

We strive to provide opinions, articles, discussions and history related to Hearth Products and in a more general sense, energy issues.

We promote the EFFICIENT, RESPONSIBLE, CLEAN and SAFE use of all fuels, whether renewable or fossil.

TheIndian

Jan 11, 2018
Long Island
Howdie,
I’m new to wood stoves. Have burned a couple times in a new F3CB...cool weekend nights. I’m able to get a nice fire going and I have even achieved the secondary burn I think...where the flames are slowly rolling over the logs. This of course happens when I reduce the air intake. But it doesn’t last that long.

1- Is there a temperature that the stove needs to get up to before one can achieve that secondary burn?

2 - How full can I load up the stove so that I can increase the burn time? Or does a full stove put me at risk for overfiring?

3- Is an F3CB even capable of an overnight burn or will I need to just feed it more often?

Thanks guys!

Howdie,
I’m new to wood stoves. Have burned a couple times in a new F3CB...cool weekend nights. I’m able to get a nice fire going and I have even achieved the secondary burn I think...where the flames are slowly rolling over the logs. This of course happens when I reduce the air intake. But it doesn’t last that long.

1- Is there a temperature that the stove needs to get up to before one can achieve that secondary burn?

2 - How full can I load up the stove so that I can increase the burn time? Or does a full stove put me at risk for overfiring?

3- Is an F3CB even capable of an overnight burn or will I need to just feed it more often?

Thanks guys!

**I am Assuming you are talking about a Jotul F3CB**