burning with a Drolet Myriad: general creosote questions

• Active since 1995, Hearth.com is THE place on the internet for free information and advice about wood stoves, pellet stoves and other energy saving equipment.

We strive to provide opinions, articles, discussions and history related to Hearth Products and in a more general sense, energy issues.

We promote the EFFICIENT, RESPONSIBLE, CLEAN and SAFE use of all fuels, whether renewable or fossil.
Status
Not open for further replies.

Dogbyte

Aug 3, 2013
Arkansas
Im still learning how to load my stove, only had it since Christmas, so i know there have been times ive not burned it as i should have, but im getting the hang of it. took me a while to feel ok with leaving it burning while i was away at work, so for a while i was shutting the air down before the fire got hot enough, so i know now the consequences of that...dirty drippy creosote.

I do have some creosote buildup way up at the cap, and probably elsewhere, and i tried to get up there this past weekend to sweep it, but the cap wouldnt come off, i think the seam is glued tight, only thing left i guess is to unscrew the 3 screws that hold the top of the cap on.

over the past week, ive been getting good fires back to back to back, where its hot enough to shut down the air and the secondaries start up. flue temps are between 300-400 during this time, and stove top is around 500F. But i have noticed after i open the door the next morning, the gust of air evidently is jarring loose some flakes, and i can hear them falling down the flue. is this buildup that is flaking off from when i was burning it dirtier?