Can you help ID my new to me REBA WASHINGTON?

• Active since 1995, Hearth.com is THE place on the internet for free information and advice about wood stoves, pellet stoves and other energy saving equipment.

We strive to provide opinions, articles, discussions and history related to Hearth Products and in a more general sense, energy issues.

We promote the EFFICIENT, RESPONSIBLE, CLEAN and SAFE use of all fuels, whether renewable or fossil.
Status
Not open for further replies.

Mohawk Dave

Nov 17, 2013
So Cal
Hello all,

Newbie here. I've been lurking for a couple weeks reading and learning. Great info, great crowd.

Background: I have a workshop outback, 10'x30', single wall metal walls and roof-16ga, and a plywood floor. It drops into the 20°s here, and my dog doesn't like being cold. lol. I will be placing the stove on a rather large brick hearth for safety reasons of course.

So, I have picked up a small stove, "Reba Washington No. 116", and I can not find any info on it online. I restore/use old American made tools, and do not see "Made in USA" on this stove, which surprised me a little. All parts are cast and stamped "RW 116". The hardware that holds the top to the sides and then bottom are long pieces of ≈5/16" allthread, which I would assume might date this more recent. (I paid $60, did I do good? I think/hope so....)

There are 2 doors on the face. The top opens to the 'firebox' and the bottom to the 'coal area'. The top has Mica windows, the lower does not. Should it? I would assume no, as this is where the draft comes from...???

So, my questions are; Why does it have 2 doors on the face and is there a name for this type, dating it, COO, history, fast facts, nicknames for this type, and any other relevant info.

Also, when I get it in the shop tomorrow, is there anything I need to do special? I've read about break in, but, since this is used that won't apply, correct? Anything else?

Thanks, MD

Attachments

• DSCN9588.JPG
    DSCN9588.JPG