Damper Gasket- Intrepid Flexburn 2115-CAT

• Active since 1995, Hearth.com is THE place on the internet for free information and advice about wood stoves, pellet stoves and other energy saving equipment.

We strive to provide opinions, articles, discussions and history related to Hearth Products and in a more general sense, energy issues.

We promote the EFFICIENT, RESPONSIBLE, CLEAN and SAFE use of all fuels, whether renewable or fossil.

steveintx

Aug 24, 2022
Texas
Hi- I'm new to wood stoves and this forum. I purchased this VC Intrepid Flexburn 2115 a few months ago and have just started using it this month. I was surprised when I opened the damper in my Intrepid and found this 26 inch gasket hanging down. It doesn't look like it has any sealant on it's surface. Tried for some guidance in the owner's manual (nothing specific about damper gasket) and my dealer (who lost credibility when she told me I could attach the gasket to the damper or the damper housing--- whatever's easier). While the other gaskets on this stove appear to be easy to replace, this damper gasket is hard because I will be working by touch. I can feel an indentation inside the damper housing. Before I try to spread the sealant on the housing and reattach the gasket, I'm trying to get advice from folks on this forum who have re-installed damper gaskets on VC stoves. (I suspect the other models of VC Flexburns have the same set-up with larger dimensions.) By the way, even without the gasket, I'm still able to engage the catalyst after the stove reaches 500 degrees & reach the operating range on the temperature probe VC Dampr Gaskt.jpg

Reactions: Earlnemo
Im not sure why your doing this yourself.. Your dealer should be helping you with this.

If you do this yourself.. your better off taking the top of rhe stove off and removing the damper.. all of the existing cement will need to be cleaned out of the channel