Dealer vs Brand vs Distance

• Active since 1995, Hearth.com is THE place on the internet for free information and advice about wood stoves, pellet stoves and other energy saving equipment.

We strive to provide opinions, articles, discussions and history related to Hearth Products and in a more general sense, energy issues.

We promote the EFFICIENT, RESPONSIBLE, CLEAN and SAFE use of all fuels, whether renewable or fossil.
Status
Not open for further replies.

Bigg_Redd

Minister of Fire
Oct 19, 2008
Shelton, WA
In Shelton we have a Husqvarna and a Stihl dealer. No Dolmar, no Jonesered (we used to have one). We have a Walmart that sells Poulans (which are great for truck saws or loaning saws). I've had lots of experience with both brands and saw for saw have no complaints. The Husqy dealer is a complete cheeseball and the Stihl dealer is solid, so I have a Stihl, and I do all my saw related business with him. So I'm a Stihl guy. If they traded brands tomorrow, tomorrow I'd be a Husqvarna guy.

Q) Are any of you brand-loyal enough to deal with a cheeseball dealer?

A) No. Not even close.

Q) What's it like having good dealers for all the serious brands close at hand? Does this even exist?

A) Anyone?

Q) I read in the 5100 thread a guy drove an hour out of his way to get to a Dolmar dealer. I'd drive as far as I'd have to to avoid doing business with a cheeseball dealer but I wouldn't pass up a solid dealer by an hour. Am I alone in this? (Full disclosure - I bought my old man an Echo 360T mail order because it was the saw he wanted and we don't have a local Echo dealer).

I went through the same thing as you thats why i went with "stihl" it was a no brainer,and the stihl is what i am comfortable with! You are not alone!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!