Fireplace chimney question

• Active since 1995, Hearth.com is THE place on the internet for free information and advice about wood stoves, pellet stoves and other energy saving equipment.

We strive to provide opinions, articles, discussions and history related to Hearth Products and in a more general sense, energy issues.

We promote the EFFICIENT, RESPONSIBLE, CLEAN and SAFE use of all fuels, whether renewable or fossil.
Status
Not open for further replies.

akrawitz

Jan 12, 2009
Southern Indiana
I am a complete chimney newbie. I have tried to search for relevant info, but have been unsuccessful - perhaps because I don't know the correct terminology. Thanks in advance for any help you can give.

The question is:
Why does there seem to be outside air flowing out of the bottom of the chimney and into the area, behind the interior wall, where the firebox is?

Now for more explanation to hopefully clarify this question: