First Year Haul

• Active since 1995, Hearth.com is THE place on the internet for free information and advice about wood stoves, pellet stoves and other energy saving equipment.

We strive to provide opinions, articles, discussions and history related to Hearth Products and in a more general sense, energy issues.

We promote the EFFICIENT, RESPONSIBLE, CLEAN and SAFE use of all fuels, whether renewable or fossil.
Dec 2, 2018
Maine
upload_2019-8-16_7-56-49.png

Spring 19'

upload_2019-8-16_7-57-23.png

June 19'

upload_2019-8-16_7-57-47.png

August 19'

This is my first year scrounging and heating a full winter with the fireplace insert. Insert was finished in February last year(Northern Maine) and I was lucky enough to have dry firewood to be dropped off by my father. I have this space on a .10 acre city lot and think if I am packing full I can use 20'X6'X6' of wood I can burn(minus the window space(wife doesn't want it blocked). Long term I will be extending the roof to cover my wood but what do you guys think of my 6'X20' tarp roof extension for Spring, Fall and Summer? Temporary covering for 2 years till I have time/energy to extend the roof. Seems to do better than covered rows as it keeps the water coming off the roof from going between the garage and the rows. Thoughts? Ideas to improve? Thank you guys!

Do you have that tarp secured under the sofit, so water can't go down? But I think it would be hard to keep the water coming off that roof from going between the house and the wood. It will never dry out, and rot the wood and house. The gutter needs to get working to. Is there room for the wood on the side of this roof, with no water coming off? If not free stand it 4-5 ft or more from the house. I keep a years worth of wood under a covered side porch deck. It all dry but I keep the wood 1.5ft from the house.

Reactions: Jan Pijpelink