Getting Catalytic Burn

• Active since 1995, Hearth.com is THE place on the internet for free information and advice about wood stoves, pellet stoves and other energy saving equipment.

We strive to provide opinions, articles, discussions and history related to Hearth Products and in a more general sense, energy issues.

We promote the EFFICIENT, RESPONSIBLE, CLEAN and SAFE use of all fuels, whether renewable or fossil.

CTstove

Nov 20, 2017
Tolland, CT
Hi Everyone,

Could use input on what I might be doing wrong with my Vermont Castings Intrepid II. I'm still new to burning with this stove that came with a house I bought. I did read the manual and FAQ on this site.

I got a fire going with the damper open and brought it up to 450 degrees after 1.5 hours based on the stovetop thermometer. When the damper was closed smoke started coming out the doors so it failed to draw in the catalytic mode. I opened the damper and let it go another 30 min to get temp up to 550, but still no draw when switched to catalytic mode.

I've got good seasoned hardwood and recently cleaned the refractory chamber and catalyst. Any suggestions? Temps here have been in the 30's and I guess the draw will be better when it's even colder, but I really want to run the stove.

Thanks for any ideas.
Chris

Hi Chris- Sounds like you are doing the right stuff. What size is the chimney flue? Could be the chimney flue is larger than optimal and is staying cold not letting it draw. Also, is the cat element in good condition? Is it blocked ? Couple of things to think about. Might be time for a new cat,

Hi Chris- Sounds like you are doing the right stuff. What size is the chimney flue? Could be the chimney flue is larger than optimal and is staying cold not letting it draw. Also, is the cat element in good condition? Is it blocked ? Couple of things to think about. Might be time for a new cat,