getting the most out of the wood

• Active since 1995, Hearth.com is THE place on the internet for free information and advice about wood stoves, pellet stoves and other energy saving equipment.

We strive to provide opinions, articles, discussions and history related to Hearth Products and in a more general sense, energy issues.

We promote the EFFICIENT, RESPONSIBLE, CLEAN and SAFE use of all fuels, whether renewable or fossil.
Status
Not open for further replies.

mlasko

Sep 24, 2008
Western PA
We've had an unseasonably cold November here in NW PA and I'm new to burning 24/7. So as I watch the wood pile decrease I'm wondering am I maximizing the heat out of my wood. I have about a 1300 square foot house with a semi finished basement. The stoves in the basement. I burn one heaping regular sized wheelbarrow full of well-seasoned wood a day (temps 25-35 degrees). I'm dampening down a lot but wasn't sure if I'm missing something or if this seems to be a fairly average amount of wood to burn per day?

Seems reasonable to me. I burn about that and maybe more when it's really cold. I had the same fear, so I picked up an additional cord of wood last week. Have 7 cord on hand with 4 of that a little green (next years pile).

Sounds about right. If you're going to run out this winter, then you may set a cutoff temp- say 30 F. It stinks, but the wood counts more when it's 10 F in January than when it's 35 F in December.

Stay warm,
-pH

I used to burn 24/7,but I recently stopped because I felt I was wasting a lot of wood to heat empty rooms. The heat does not reach our bedroom for some reason it is the only room that stays cold. So I figured I would just fire it back up in the morning. Now a wheelbarrow load lasts me 4 days or so depending on how much the wife complains.