Hello, Newbie here

• Active since 1995, Hearth.com is THE place on the internet for free information and advice about wood stoves, pellet stoves and other energy saving equipment.

We strive to provide opinions, articles, discussions and history related to Hearth Products and in a more general sense, energy issues.

We promote the EFFICIENT, RESPONSIBLE, CLEAN and SAFE use of all fuels, whether renewable or fossil.
Status
Not open for further replies.

sheepdog000

Hearth Supporter
Dec 7, 2010
Midwest
Howdy, Newby reporting in here. I am looking to get a woodburner for my home. There are so many choices, it blows my mind. I figure, I'd give a few specs and get some advice from the resident experts. Would waiting until summer be cheaper? Old models, install options, ect....
I live in Mid-Michigan, in a 1000 sq. ft. "A Frame" ranch, my pitch is not steep as I can walk on my roof just fine. I plan on putting the stove in my basement near a poured concrete wall (approx. middle of house) and piping up and out from the basement. I have no problem cutting some holes in the wood floor to add vents for heat transfer to the main floor if need be. I don't need anything pretty, all black is just fine. I am looking at having a great heat source as an alternative to the natural gas furnace. Plus, power outages, ect... we won't freeze.

Any help or guidance that anyone may provide will be greatly appreciated. This website is a wealth of knowledge.

Welcome! Do some reading here. You'll find some themes, a few which come to mind...

Wood before stove - Get your wood supply before your stove. What the woodguy sells as "seasoned" often is really not ready to burn.

Put your stove where the people are. If your woodstove is in an unfinished/uninsulated basement you'll be expending most of your energy heating the ground outside your house. Plus, it makes a great addition to your decor.