HELP! .a new VC0044 wood insert user

• Active since 1995, Hearth.com is THE place on the internet for free information and advice about wood stoves, pellet stoves and other energy saving equipment.

We strive to provide opinions, articles, discussions and history related to Hearth Products and in a more general sense, energy issues.

We promote the EFFICIENT, RESPONSIBLE, CLEAN and SAFE use of all fuels, whether renewable or fossil.
Status
Not open for further replies.

jimmieguns

Dec 10, 2012
Long Island, NY
Hello Community! great site--- I am new to fireburning for heat here in NY,

NEED much help in tactics. Have an old Vermont Casting modell 0044. Seems ok for its age. Fans a bit noisey. :(

I cannot seem to get a REALLY hot fire and for any length of time to heat me up in the house(2000 sq ft).

I am told I have a Rolls Royce that should do it no problem.

HELP!?

email if you want at [email protected]

Many THANKS.

I am told I have a Rolls Royce that should do it no problem.
What does that even mean?

That said, how long has your wood been cut, split, and stacked? Did you buy your wood? Because, your problem is most likely wet wood.

What does that even mean?

That said, how long has your wood been cut, split, and stacked? Did you buy your wood? Because, your problem is most likely wet wood.
Hello and Thank You for your reply. A local merchant salesperson said it was a Rolls Royce in that it is huge and Vintage(not too important to me). The wood I bought from a reputable company near me. Said it was seasoned for 6-18 mts. Some DID burn great -some not so much. Got the wook 2 1/2 weeks agon, stacked it properly on a rack 4-6 inches above ground, tarped. I agree though with you--likely the wood in some way. How do I know for sure?