How much wood per year? Lopi

• Active since 1995, Hearth.com is THE place on the internet for free information and advice about wood stoves, pellet stoves and other energy saving equipment.

We strive to provide opinions, articles, discussions and history related to Hearth Products and in a more general sense, energy issues.

We promote the EFFICIENT, RESPONSIBLE, CLEAN and SAFE use of all fuels, whether renewable or fossil.
Status
Not open for further replies.

WOODplay

Oct 12, 2010
Lower Micigan
I'm new to wood heat and am wondering how much wood everyone goes though in a year?
I have a Lopi Endeavor and a 1100 sq ft Ranch.
Latley I go though about 4 to 6 logs per day.
I'm kind of thinking 3 cords by the end of a MI winter?

WOODplay said:
I'm new to wood heat and am wondering how much wood everyone goes though in a year?

How old is your house and how well insulated?

I would think a well insulated 1100 sq ft house would have a tuff time going through 3 cord in a winter.

1978 and it seems to hold heat for a while so I guess It's ok on the insulation.
I burn after work and maybe a little bit in the morning before work.

Too many variables: insulation, size of house, 24/7 vs nights, geography, flue, wood species, seasoning of wood, preferred temp in house, heating just a few rooms/whole house....

But in short, heating through proper winters ;-), heating most of the house, you'd be looking at 3ish for a modern stove and a house that size. I went through 4 last year, probably similar this year despite a longer heating season (stove was in late last year, but this year's wood is better)

WOODplay said:
1978 and it seems to hold heat for a while so I guess It's ok on the insulation.
I burn after work and maybe a little bit in the morning before work.

Then I think you should be more like 2 cords if you have hardwood.