howl when flame gets high.

• Active since 1995, Hearth.com is THE place on the internet for free information and advice about wood stoves, pellet stoves and other energy saving equipment.

We strive to provide opinions, articles, discussions and history related to Hearth Products and in a more general sense, energy issues.

We promote the EFFICIENT, RESPONSIBLE, CLEAN and SAFE use of all fuels, whether renewable or fossil.

spoolie25

Oct 18, 2017
north nj
hi guys i have a whitfeild cascade and i am getting a howl/train like sound when the flame gets taller? i have cleaned the stove the fans seem to be ok. i am a noob. this stove only has one motor for intake and exh fan. not sure if this is comn or not? any help would be great.

Last edited by a moderator:
dam that's what i was thinking too. i am new to thing but i am a mechanic and pretty handy. i think i just wanted to hear something different. thank you. i almost seems like i wont pull the air out fast enough. when its on low or the flame is low it does not do it.

dam that's what i was thinking too. i am new to thing but i am a mechanic and pretty handy. i think i just wanted to hear something different. thank you. i almost seems like i wont pull the air out fast enough. when its on low or the flame is low it does not do it.
I just put a new convection blower in an almost new P4 that was doing the same thing. If you pull it out and listen to it you'll know for sure.

I have different stove but right now I have to light by tourch until new ignitor comes in. But when I light I toss a hand full of pellets in and light so the flame is bigger than normal. It's trying to pull so much air that is sucks air around glass and howels until I open up damper or fire dyes down

Sent from my SM-G903W using Tapatalk